1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Comments/questions about my new Prius....

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by Jim in NC, Apr 30, 2016.

1. Jim in NC

Jim in NC Active Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hi all,

There are a list of questions I've been compiling that are not really problems, but differences or things I don't understand on the new Prius. Also, I have been driving a Gen 3 Prius II (2010) for 5-1/2 years so I'm not a newbie.

1. When you lift the hood, it is very difficult to find where to place the hood prop. I finally found it, but the old Prius has 2 places to put it and they're easy to find. Why did they make it harder?
    2. When I switched to the car icon on my stereo screen, it shows the energy running from the batteries, etc but the wheels are not turning. Why? On my old Prius it shows the battery flowing and the wheels turning! But that screen (Gen 3) is up on the dash, not the stereo. Do you think Toyota made an oversight?
    3. The gas door popper is up on the dash, much easier to do than the old one (on the floor)
    4. The back hatch seems much lighter and easier to open than the old one. My old one has gotten horribly heavy lately. Or maybe the new one is made of lighter material. Don't know which.
    5. At night the headlights are so much brighter I can see really well. I do worry about the other drivers getting blinded though. Could this be dangerous or could I get a ticket? Anyone else?
    6. When I first drove the car home from the dealer, it kept saying stupid things like "traffic ahead in 1/2 mile". Hasn't done that lately, but why? Maybe the dealer turned on something else?
    7. How does this car know what the speed limit is? Sometimes it puts a speed limit icon on the front window. I don't think I turned that on.

2. 'LectroFuel

'LectroFuel Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    N/A