1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Confused about braking

Discussion in 'Prius v Technical Discussion' started by Mbern1008, Jun 21, 2012.

1. Mbern1008

Mbern1008 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I am a brand new Prius v 2 owner and am confused when it comes to braking. I read somewhere that when you see the regenitive charging are full in white 3 white bars that it is now using the friction brakes. Is that true? How do you know when it is using regen vs. friction brakes?

iPad ?

2. mudmanrv

mudmanrv Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I'm new to prius also - my v2 is on order ... but it is my understanding - that you may never really "know" ...
    It's what my dad used to say -- it's PFM (Pure freakin' magic) ... it's all computer controlled.... and a delicate balance.
    initially - when you let off the gas pedal - there is a little regen effect - that simulate engine drag on a normal car ...
    as you lightly press the pedal, more and more regen force is added - if you press more, as in a panic stop - then the fritction breaks are applied. regen breaking only has so much brake force - and it's dependent on vehicle speed, battery charge, and amount of pedal travel as input from you on how hard you want to stop.

with that said - i read in a post somewhere on here - that below 7mph i think, it's friction brakes 100% as there is not enough "motion" if you will for the regen 'effect' to work.

hopefully I didn't confuse you more - but, just remember, if you use the brakes lightly - you will likely rarely use your friction brakes... below low speeds, i.e. in parking lots - you will likely only use your friction brakes...
    the rest is dependent on too many variables - wheel speed, how hard you are pushing on pedal, battery charge, etc.

3. Chazz8

Chazz8 Gadget Lover

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five