1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Considering Buying Used 2016 Prius- Red Flags?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by EmbraceTheMPG, Jan 28, 2017.

1. EmbraceTheMPG

EmbraceTheMPG New Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi everyone, newbie here, both to the forum and to the Prius world.

I'm considering buying a used 2016 Prius that has come available, and I'm curious if I should be worried about anything I've found.

First of all, it was bought 4 months ago, and then subsequently traded in. It has about 12,000 miles on it. I know Prii can last forever, both in years and mileage, but should I be worried at all about that 36,000 mile per year rate?

I was curious why someone would trade in a car so quickly, so I went onto the Toyota Owners page to see if there are any service records that could clue me in. Here's what I found:

1/9/17 - INFORMATION LINE ~|~*CUSTOMER STATES, JUST HAD AN RECALL DONE ON THE CAR AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON A FEW DAYS LATER. CUSTOMER HAD LIGHT TURNED OFF AT ANOTHER DEALER. WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS THE ACTIVE GRILL SYSTEM WAS FROZEN. PLEASE ADVISE. ~|~ ~|~FOUND CODE P05A074 PENDING FOR SHUTTER A ACTUATOR SLIPPING, PARTS ARE ON ORDER

1/12/17 - INFORMATION LINE ~|~*CUSTOMER STATES, INSTALL SPECIAL ORDER PART ~|~BROKEN,SPLIT, TORN ~|~OP CODE 520991 T1-62 T2-12 1.5 FAILED PART NO. 53019-47010 CAME IN FOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONFIRMED THAT SHUTTER ASSEMBLY WAS INOP REPLACED INOP SHUTTER ASSEMBLY AND INITIALIZED SYSTEM

Any red flags there, or is this relatively standard? Any idea if such problems are common or uncommon in the 2016s?

Thanks in advance, everyone.

2. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring