1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Costco TPMS- does it work on Prius?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Janny, Feb 15, 2024.

  1. Janny

    Janny Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2024
    36
    13
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Bought 4 Michelin Defender T and H from Costo to be installed. I have blinking TPS code so going to purchase 4 TPMS sensor (quoted $240 for labor and parts). Will the generic TPMS work on a 2011 Prius? Does the installer reset it for me or do I have to learn how to do this?

    TIA
     
  2. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,593
    4,453
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Costco will set it up properly so that it works and has no tpms warnings. I had them do it once when changing tires. It is the easiest fast solution.
     
    #2 rjparker, Feb 15, 2024
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2024
    Janny likes this.
  3. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    10,911
    4,423
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    That's way too expensive... Just do Google searches on here for cheapest way to buy same as OEM (way less than $100 for 4 of them) and call around to small tire shops in town for best price. I bet you find someone to do it for $50 range.

    Or to save even more money, just replace the bad one... You could get years more life out of the good ones.
     
  4. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,593
    4,453
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    The problem with diy is you are responsible for buying Amazon equivalents and ensuring everything is configured especially if you can find a tire shop for $12 a tire labor. Some equivalents are more likely to be blocked by rf interference like led aftermarket lights or stereos. Plus you just bought new Michelins with Costco balance and nitrogen and now you are having the side shop down the road break the bead and risk the balance and rims. Plus an extra hour or two waiting.

    Fastest and easiest with a guarantee is Costco where you will be anyway.
     
    N4HHE likes this.
  5. Danno5060

    Danno5060 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2023
    132
    49
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Your success depends on who is going to do the install.

    I found a set of 4 OEM sensors for $50. For new OEM sensors, you'll need to program the car to accept the new sensors - the IDs are printed on the sensors. To program the car, you'll need an OBD2 scan tool that's capable of working with the tire pressure monitoring computer. Some tire shops can work with these. I borrowed one from a friend. Before going to the tire shop I laid the new sensors out next to the tires, programmed the new IDs into the car, and verified it could read them all before going to the tire shop.

    I change between summer and winter tires, so I got the sensors installed when I changed over to the winter tires this year. Since I bought both sets of tires from them, it was part of my normal summer-to-winter tire mounting and balancing. There was no extra charge for installing the sensors at that time, so the shop put in the new sensors essentially for free. Some tire stores will have deals like free rotations and the like if you bought your tires from them. It depends on their policies as to how much they'd charge you for the labor.

    Aftermarket sensors are usually programmed with the IDs from the original sensors, which tricks the car into accepting the new sensors as the original ones. Usually, the tire shops that sell the aftermarket sensors have the tools to program the new sensors. The shop may also program the sensors with new IDs and program the car as well.
     
  6. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    10,911
    4,423
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Actually all that information is available on PriusChat... I remember just a month ago on here a guy found the exact same TPMS Toyota uses for $30 each and Toyota Stealerships was trying to sell same thing to him for nearly $200 each.

    As in Priuschat has all the DIY info you need and it'd be alot easier to find if trolls like you weren't constantly creating so much noise making sure everyone knows that everyone is wrong and you're right. Seriously dude... Look in the mirror and ask yourself how much you help people rather than hurt people?
     
    #6 PriusCamper, Feb 15, 2024
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2024
    bettergolf likes this.
  7. Janny

    Janny Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2024
    36
    13
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Was at Costco to confirm my appointment. Was told Item number 165816 7007 HP RS 315MHZ would fit my Prius. Total for 4 was $206 including tax. Will be installed for free when I install the tires.

    Is that the OEM ? If not, would it matter as Costco said this is what I need. Or should I buy OEM..what is part number?
     
  8. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,593
    4,453
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    You are good with their part. Buying the oem part IS expensive at $97 each retail at the dealer, sometimes $66 each plus shipping from legitimate dealers online.
     
  9. Janny

    Janny Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2024
    36
    13
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Wow....not a troll, and I am not a DIY. If I know about cars, I would not be on this forum. Please don't answer my questions if you feel that I am a troll
     
  10. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,593
    4,453
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Camper was attacking me.
     
    PriusCamper likes this.
  11. bbrages

    bbrages Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2023
    59
    14
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm sure Costco could get a generic one to work. I had them replace a couple on my Odyssey the last time I got tires. I think they only charge around $40 each when you are getting tires.

    I just had Wal-mart put one in my 2010 Prius for less than $30... The Wal-Mart one has a rubber valve stem, sigh.
     
  12. Mr. F

    Mr. F Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2020
    345
    195
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The original Denso ones can certainly be purchased for about $30 each, but you do need to program the sensor IDs in using Techstream yourself. That is something a tire place will not be able to do for you if you take in OEM sensors you acquired elsewhere.
     
  13. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    17,113
    10,043
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    He frequently acts like that. One of the individual personalities you will get to know if you stick around here for any length of time.
     
    Janny likes this.
  14. sylvaing

    sylvaing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2023
    854
    360
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I bought TPMS from Costco Canada for the winter wheels I bought for my Gen4 Prius Prime. When I got the car back, the TPMS light was off and have had zero problems with the sensors.
     
    N4HHE and Janny like this.
  15. N4HHE

    N4HHE Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2022
    8
    3
    0
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    N/A
    Who is Toyota’s TPMS OEM? Who makes the sensors Toyota sells as OE? You cannot buy OEM without knowing this.

    There are a lot of knock-off junk TPMS sensors on Amazon and eBay.

    All 4 sensors on the vehicle came from the same production batch, subject to the same use. If one battery dies then the others are likely failing.

    Autel MX sensors are good but require an Autel TPMS scanner to program to your vehicle to speak the correct protocol, then after that one pairs to the vehicle. The sweetest way with Autel is to clone the existing sensors so the vehicle doesn’t know anything was changed out from under. Really nice when swapping summer/winter wheels.

    (4) Autel MX sensors are usually $120 on Amazon. The advantage is one doesn’t buy sensors for a specific vehicle but uses the $150 Autel scanner to write the vehicle into the sensor.

    They didn’t have to replace the stem. The sensor is held to the stem with a screw.

    My Autel TS-508 thinks it can write TPMS ESNs to Prius.
     
    #15 N4HHE, Feb 17, 2024
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 17, 2024
  16. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    17,113
    10,043
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Likewise, zero problems with replacement TPMS sensors from Costco U.S. on my Gen3 Prius.

    I had the sensors preemptively replaced when buying new tires when it was ~9 years old, figuring the factory sensor batteries would likely die before the next tire replacement. Traded the car in last week (12 years old), so cannot comment on the replacement sensor battery life.
     
  17. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    10,911
    4,423
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I haven't looked for that thread from a month or so ago, but the person who posted went to great lengths to confirm it was genuine and maker of them is the exact same supplier Toyota uses.

    As for replacing all four because they all go bad at same time, that might make sense in theory, but not in practice. I got one that only goes bad if I drive for a more than hour and then it goes back to ok around town hte next day. This has been going on for two years and all the other TPMS have no issue.
     
    #17 PriusCamper, Feb 17, 2024
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2024
  18. N4HHE

    N4HHE Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2022
    8
    3
    0
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    N/A
    Well, you got at least 3 years out of them. That is something. The OE sensors in my 2013 Tesla Model S were going bad at 3 years. The replacements (under warranty) were still good 7 years later.
     
  19. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,593
    4,453
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    One thing to keep in mind is tpms sensor batteries can be drained faster by miles on a high mile per year car.

    The sensors go into a ‘sleep’ mode when the wheel is not rotating and wake up just as you start driving. They continue to transmit as you drive, so the more miles they have the faster they discharge their battery.

    My oem set lasted the first 150,000 miles while the Costco set lasted the next 150k. The car is almost 12.5 years old.
     
    kc410 likes this.