1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Cracked windshield report: replacement in Wisconsin <ouch

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by MadDebSalsa, May 18, 2004.

1. MadDebSalsa

MadDebSalsa New Member

I know there is discussion elsewhere about windshield damage and the theoretical role of Prius aerodynamic design in promoting or preventing rocks, etc. hitting windshield.

This is one consumer/driver report on cracked windshield experience with the Prius. At a scant 3,000 miles on my Prius, I was startled to notice an 8 inch crack right in front of me on the driver's side. Don't remember hitting anything or hearing the damage happen. This was at Eastertime. In years of driving Toyota and other vehicles I've never had this happen, so I was a windshield care newbie. I wondered if it was just a badly manufactured or installed windshield. :?

When I brought it in to my dealer, they pointed out an "impact point" -- a tiny dent in the glass, almost like a pin hole. This starting spot for the crack was placed in the low driver's side corner of the windshield, where it is painted/tinted black. So it could not be seen from inside. Have no idea of when it happened. I guess the crack to "grew" to 8 inches quickly tho'.

My insurance co.'s 800 number had a special extension for glass repair.
    Initially they spoke optimistically of my having the repair done in my driveway by a mobile truck pronto. The insurance co. and the glass co. took a day or so to figure out that -- at least in the upper midwest -- no company had suitable replacements. Databases for warehouses had zilch. Windshield had to be ordered thru my local dealer from Toyota. It was pricey (about $450) and I had to pay the deductible.