Cruise Control Hack

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by GTGuy, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. GTGuy

    GTGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Has anybody ever hacked the cruise control on the Prius? Instead of having to flick the cruise handle up and down to get to the speed I wat I thought that hacking the system to allow input from a knob would be useful. I was thinking of mounting the knob/dial on the armrest, sort of like in the position where BMW has the iDrive knob. Also, I was thinking of mounting a small LCD readout to show the speed at which cruise it set.
     
  2. Dozzer

    Dozzer Prius Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    189
    5
    0
    Location:
    Swansea, UK
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    A better hack for the cruise would be one to adjust how "agressive" it is in maintaining the set speed.. so on hills it doesn't floor it to maintain speed..

    Or better yet a mod to make it a dynamic cruise that uses a laser to measure the distance and rate of distance change to the vehicle in front.. but that would be a "monster" mod to do..
     
  3. Sheepdog

    Sheepdog C'Mere Sheepie!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    1,125
    13
    9
    Location:
    Sanford FLorida
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    better would a cruise that centers on MPG not a set speed even up hill.

    I have one. it's called "me"
     
  4. ken1784

    ken1784 SuperMID designer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    2,940
    1,345
    67
    Location:
    Yokohama, JAPAN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  5. dwreed3rd

    dwreed3rd New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    742
    4
    0
    Location:
    Marietta, Ga
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I forget which car he mentioned, but our son said that one of the new cars, it may have been BMW, has some kind of setting that you can select economy or power.
     
  6. Jack66

    Jack66 Kinda Jovial Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    766
    5
    0
    Location:
    Stafford, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
  7. dwreed3rd

    dwreed3rd New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    742
    4
    0
    Location:
    Marietta, Ga
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I assume you are being facetious. If you have ever watched an instant MPG gauge, you realize the wild flucuations that the MPG goes through to maintain speed. Since one directly affects the other, if you try to maintain MPG, this would result in wild flucuations in speed, not a safe driving practice. An adjustment for the agressiveness of CC could be feasible, but would have to take ihe topography into consideration. Obviously the agressiveness would have to be greater on the Blue Ridge Parkway through Virginia than on an interstate through Oklahoma. CC will drop below the minimum and cancel on a, downhill followed by an immediate transition into an uphill, if is not agressive enough. At some point "The Law of Diminishing Returns" applies and except for the quests of the hypermilers, the results does not justify the means. It is, however, always good to explore new possibilities.
     
  8. dwreed3rd

    dwreed3rd New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    742
    4
    0
    Location:
    Marietta, Ga
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Maintaining a constant speed will give you a better overall mpg than trying to improve MPG by allopwing you speed to vary significantly. Whenever you allow the car to slow to maintain a lower MPG, it will, overall, take more enery to accelerate back to your desired speed than it would to maintain a constant speed. That's why I use my CC on the Avalon anytime I can over the 35mph minimum. Of course, the exception would be allowing it to slow significantly when cresting a hill and gaining the speed back on the down side of the hill, but this is an exception, which I may do occassionally, but only if there is no one behind me.

    P.S. The pulse and glide on the Prius may also be an exception as a result of efficient use of the ICE.
     
  9. jammin012

    jammin012 The man behind The Man

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    510
    5
    0
    Location:
    Cali
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    1983 Toyota Camry
     
  10. dapastaguy

    dapastaguy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    45
    1
    4
    Location:
    Sumter, SC
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    How abouit a hack that keeps the cruise on like a normal car? I hate having to puch the button every day, ebery other car I've had cruise in, even some toyotas, always had an on that stayed on
     
  11. darelldd

    darelldd Prius is our Gas Guzzler

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    6,057
    383
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Eeeexactly what I was going to say. That's the "hack" that should have come standard with the car. Every time I get in the car and want to use cruise, I first have to turn it on, and then set it? Why????
     
  12. okiebutnotfrommuskogee

    okiebutnotfrommuskogee Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    1,813
    15
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    The hack I would like to see is one that would keep it from forgetting the set speed when the car comes to a stop. My 05 Avalon cruise control remembers the previously set speed after a stop and after the car gets up to about 25 mph just hit resume and it goes back to the speed before the stop.

    When I first got the Prius, I thought the cc was broken because I had to reset it after every stop.
     
  13. bry

    bry Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    14
    2
    0
    Location:
    san diego
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    i would like it to use engery regen. to slow the prius back to the set speed when going down hill. when ever i go down a hill the prius will pick up speed. this seems like a wasted opertunity to recover some engery. it also seems like a simple program modification. my uncles civic hybrid does this. its the only feature that the civic has that the prius lacks that is good.
     
  14. lesturner

    lesturner Taming the Dragon - Tennessee

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    74
    9
    0
    Location:
    Bremen, IN, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    While we are discussing cruise control mods... I would be happy if the Cruise light in the dash was illuminated ONLY if the cruise control was engaged, not simply powered on.

    Les ---
     
  15. eagsc7

    eagsc7 Geocacher

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    48
    0
    0
    Location:
    Prescott, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    My only gripe is that there is no readout saying that Cruise is set... In our 04 Grand Prix, every time I would set a speed, it would flash a message on the MFD saying Cruise Set.

    I also do agree with a Effeciency/power switch or option. I have the feeling that ALL of this is just programming for use in the MFD.

    The Steaks
     
Loading...