Cruise Control Issue?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by 2010blizzard, May 17, 2011.

  1. 2010blizzard

    2010blizzard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    14
    1
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    UPDATE My wife drives a ton and uses cruise control alot. She states that sometimes she is using cruise control and when she has to slow down she hits cancel and then when she wants to resume cruise it will not resume. The dash cruise light is still on but it will not set, or resume. She will push the cruise button off and on and it still will not work. She does not have the gear selector on B. She states after she turns the car off and back on it will work fine. But every week or two this problem still exists.
     
  2. 2010blizzard

    2010blizzard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    14
    1
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Oh yeah, she also says it doesn't happen every day only about once or twice every other week.
     
  3. jamesa53

    jamesa53 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    74
    8
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    To make the resume function work, you have to "Cancel" the cruise first by pulling the lever toward you. To "Resume", you simply push the lever up momentarily. Do not hit the button at the end of the lever or you will turn it off and have to start over.

    Mine will drift about 1 mph depending on terrain. I have a 70 mile one-way commute to work (all interstate) so I also use it quite a lot. I have to say it works better than the cruise on my former Honda Civic.
     
  4. qbee42

    qbee42 My other car is a boat

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    18,058
    3,037
    7
    Location:
    Northern Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Resume only works if the car's speed stays close to the cruise speed. In other words, if you slow down much, the setting is canceled. This is considered a safety feature to help eliminate unexpected acceleration. Otherwise someone could have cruise set at 70, slow to 20, hit resume and panic as the car accelerated back up to 70.

    Tom
     
  5. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,011
    4,063
    50
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA.
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    That is what I was going to say. I've noticed this on my GenII as well. It seems like there is a 10mph limit to this feature. Or something close to that.
     
  6. Troyroy

    Troyroy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    373
    30
    0
    Location:
    Troy, NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two

    1st thing you have to do is get the cruise control to perform like this yourself.

    My CC is a bit strange. In that most of the time when I set it, it does not hold the speed where I set it to. If I remove my foot from the fuel pedal I can loose 5-8 MPH, then have the CC kick in, causing the ICE to rev up, going into full power to reach the speed that I set it to. What I have learned to do is set the CC, then wait until I am certain the the CC is holding my set speed, this prevents me from loosing my set speed and prevents the ICE from revving to get to set speed.

    I have never experienced what your describing, that after it reaches her set speed then it will coast to a stop, if she does not interfere with it and set the CC speed again.

    CC will not work below 30 MPH......!!!!!!!!!
     
  7. 2010blizzard

    2010blizzard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    14
    1
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    bump for the update!
     
  8. tomlouie

    tomlouie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    118
    20
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    CC would be so much safer to use if it also indicated (next to the speedo) what the currently set speed is.
     
  9. cwerdna

    cwerdna Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    12,541
    2,110
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I can't speak to the 3rd gen, but IIRC, my 2nd gen (and many/all Toyotas?) have a goofy "feature" where if the car's speed drops below 25 mph, CC will (by design) forget the set speed. The net effect is that resume will do nothing. This is documented in the manual.

    Nissans don't do this by just will refuse to resume unless you resume while your speed is above 25 mph. (Behavior is documented in my 350Z's manual.)
     
  10. 2010blizzard

    2010blizzard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    14
    1
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Yeah i agree but she says she cant get it to set again at any speed. will not work at all. turn cc off turn cc on and hit set and it wont work.
     
  11. tumbleweed

    tumbleweed Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    4,067
    685
    0
    Location:
    Eastern Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    The cruise control in my gen 3 Prius will resume back to its set speed from any speed over 25 mph. If it is set to any speed I can cancel it with the brake pedal or the CC lever slow down or even stop, as soon as I get back above 25 mph I can hit resume and it will resume back to the set speed.

    After I read this thread I thought some of the answers didn't sound like the way mine operates so I tried it this afternoon. I tested in both DRCC and non-radar modes. Both modes resume from 25 mph as long as the CC isn't turned off. I used 60 mph for the set speed. Since I have the the DRCC option mine might operate differently even in the non-radar mode so someone who has a gen 3 without ATP needs to try it also.

    2010blizzard you may have a faulty CC switch, if it were me I would take it in and have it checked.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. F8L

    F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    19,011
    4,063
    50
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA.
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Tumbleweed, i'll check mine tonight. I may be incorrect in that my speed was below 25mph at some point between canceling cc and trying to resume cc.
     
  13. 2010blizzard

    2010blizzard Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    14
    1
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I asked her to let me know if it happens again so I can tell Toyota the frequency and make sure she didn't have it set on (B). Thanks for the input. I've never had a problem when I drove it but she runs alot more miles than me in the Prius.
     
  14. cwerdna

    cwerdna Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    12,541
    2,110
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Yeah, I think the above is possible or a faulty/out of adjustment brake light switch or the OP's wife IS driving in B mode when trying to engage CC (yeah, yeah, I read the post claiming that she isn't).
     
Loading...