Dash Lit up. No Codes.

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by mypriuscious, May 29, 2021.

  1. mypriuscious

    mypriuscious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    180
    62
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    As many other threads have suggested I replaced the 12v battery. To no success. Has anyone else experienced this? And if so, did you discover a remedy?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,165
    10,556
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    If you ditch whatever tool is telling you there are no codes, then read the codes and post them here, there will probably be more ideas forthcoming.
     
  3. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,104
    7,748
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    There are codes stored by the car to tell you where the problem is. You have to get a scanner or bring it to a shop that can read the codes for you.

    For a 2010, chances are your hybrid battery is at the end of it's lifecycle and will need replacement. But best to make sure by reading codes.
     
  4. mypriuscious

    mypriuscious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    180
    62
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    What code reader do you suggest? I have a Bluetooth Bafx brand and have been using the torque app.
     
  5. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,104
    7,748
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I use a windows based program called tech stream to retrieve my codes, but I'm sure the wireless one you mentioned "torque app" should be able to read codes. I'm just not familiar in using the wireless stuff.

    But in your picture, it seems the car didn't even get into ready mode. Did you mess with the orange plug on the hybrid battery? If you did, you probably didn't put it back and "lock" it in place. You would need to flip the lever and then slide it to "lock" it in place. Then try to start the car.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  6. mypriuscious

    mypriuscious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    180
    62
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    That part of the dash doesn't work anymore.
     
  7. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,104
    7,748
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Your speedometer doesn't show "0", that's when you know your car is ON and in READY mode to drive
     
  8. mypriuscious

    mypriuscious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    180
    62
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Yes, that is correct. Sorry. There are cases when turning it off and on 3 times will allow it to go into ready mode. But it won't do that in this instance.
     
  9. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,104
    7,748
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    since replacing the 12v battery (hopefully the new one is good), have you touched the orange plug looking thing on the hybrid battery? did you ever remove it? Do you have enough fuel in the car?
     
  10. mypriuscious

    mypriuscious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    180
    62
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Nope, I have not touched or removed it. There's about 3 gallons in the tank.
     
  11. mypriuscious

    mypriuscious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    180
    62
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Just heard back from Toyota, inverter failure. Covered under the 15 year warranty.
     
    bisco and ASRDogman like this.
  12. mypriuscious

    mypriuscious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    180
    62
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I wanted to provide further update. As it was not the inverter. On the phone it was the hybrid battery CPU that needed replaced. Toyota calls it a Battery Relay Junction Box part # G92Z0-47020. The mechanic said one of the relays had stop working and they don't sell those individually.
     
    #12 mypriuscious, Aug 19, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2021
  13. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,165
    10,556
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    If that junction block is what they replaced, then it wasn't the inverter or the hybrid battery CPU. Those are all three different things.

    Interestingly, the junction box listed for a 2010 is G92Z0-47011. I can't pull up that G92Z1 as a good number at all. (Sometimes there are engineering numbers molded into a part that look like catalog numbers but aren't.)

    The little computer inside the battery got its name demoted from "battery ECU" in past generations to lowly sensor, battery voltage in Gen 3, but it's still pretty much the same animal. It's 89892-47080.

    It is disheartening that even the Toyota dealer went through "it's the inverter, no it's the ECU, no it's the junction box". Reading and looking up the trouble codes and following the given troubleshooting steps probably would have nailed it in one.

    Also sorry you went through that first-step detour of spending money and time on 12 volt battery replacement. We have too many threads plugging that ahead of just finding out what the car is telling you. The manual does advocate a quick check that you've got resting voltage at least 11 to proceed with troubleshooting, but we get a lot of people being led into more effort and expense than that simple check.
     
    #13 ChapmanF, Aug 19, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2021
    jerrymildred likes this.
  14. jolynf13

    jolynf13 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    6
    3
    0
    Location:
    san diego
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    If its inside the hybrid battery, and dealer dont sell them, your best bet will be those company that refurbish hybrid battery. I'm sure they have those parts and might sell it to you cheaper that dealer price....it may be true that your hybrid may need to be replace. I would go for cheap parts replacement first then ask them to run diagnostic on the condition of your hybrid battery

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  15. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    15,165
    10,556
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The dealer does sell the junction block; G92Z0-47011 is a good part number.

    What the dealer was saying is just that the three individual relays, resistor, and current sensor that go in the junction block aren't separately sold.
     
  16. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,495
    4,752
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Are they still covering it under warranty? Or raking you over the coals?

    If needed, I probably have a few laying around...
     
Loading...