1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Dash Noise, Not Vibration?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by mpg9999, Sep 22, 2012.

1. mpg9999

mpg9999 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My girlfriend just picked up a 2007 Prius Touring, 78,000 miles, original owner. It was a private sale and I took a look at it for her. I'm just learning about the Prius and stuff to look for, but everything looked good on it to me. After purchasing it she noticed a noise coming from the drivers side dash. I searched here and saw that dash rattles are common, but this sounds more like an electric buzzing/whirring noise. The duration of the noise is always about 2 to 3 seconds in length, then it stops. There doesn't seem to be any common factor for when it occurs. Is there anything electric on the drives side dash (far left side, closest to the window), that might be making this noise? It's not super loud, you can't hear it if the radio is on.

2. PriusGuy32

PriusGuy32 Prius Driver Extraordinaire

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Does it occur all of the time or when you are turning the car on or off?

Sounds to me like a pump. Ive read that the brakes are assisted by a pump that makes strange noises when your foot is on it. Also, the inverter coolant pump Im pretty sure is under the hood in front of the drivers side but towards the front of the car. When they start to go bad they get noisy.

3. mpg9999

mpg9999 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A