1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Daylight Saving Time

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Jonny Zero, Oct 9, 2012.

1. Jonny Zero

Jonny Zero Giggidy

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Does the clock on the Prius switch automatically for Daylight Saving Time? Since it has the dates too it would be easy. This is my first time switch with the Prius...

2. Paradox

Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Nope, I change it manually.

3. Jonny Zero

Jonny Zero Giggidy

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    BTW my clock is a little slow. It is behind 1 min in a month. Anyone notice that?

I know general relativity says time slows down at higher relative speed. I did not think I was driving that fast!

4. Paradox

Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I didnt notice problems in my 2010, but my 2012 pip seems to loose a minute even faster than one minute a month. Maybe a minute every 2 weeks or so... It's a quick hit of one button to add on te extra minute but it is odd...

5. macman408

macman408 Electron Guidance Counselor

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    That's pretty common among all sorts of devices - it's a cost savings thing. A fairly typical oscillator used in electronics might be ±25 ppm; ppm is 'parts per million', meaning for every million seconds that pass, it'll be within 25 seconds of the right time. That sounds pretty good, until you realize that a month has about 2.6 million seconds! So there's your minute-per-month right there. (It's also not uncommon to have oscillators as bad as ±100 ppm.)