1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

dead starter battery after 3-week inactivity - all cars?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Zuzu, Apr 25, 2014.

1. Zuzu

Zuzu New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi - I'm a newbie, still trying to decide whether to get a Prius. I'm looking at a 2014 new III. Question: My friend who has a 2001 Prius (whose original hybrid battery is still going strong, by the way) says that if she does not drive her Prius for 2-3 weeks, her starter battery will need a jump. Is that particular to Priuses, or do all newer cars with the keyless entry and/or theft deterrent do that?

I'm trying to decide between a Prius and a fuel-efficient conventional hatchback (Mazda3). I was surprised to find that, with the factory $1000 cash back, the price for a Prius III is only $1290 higher than for the Mazda with pretty much identical features (one exception is the Mazda has blindspot monitoring). I don't drive many miles a year (7500), but with that small a difference in cost, that puts my payback horizon somewhere in the 4 to 7 year range, less if gas prices spike or I start driving more.

We do have cold winters here; do Priuses start well in cold weather? All cars lose mpg in the winter here, but would Priuses lose more mpg than a conventional car?

Is this forum checked often, or should I also post in the general forum? Thanks!! :)

Zuzu

2. kye04

kye04 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    The battery of prius are inside the cabin, not outside near the engine like the rest of the cars....
    So will last better than the Mazda for sure...

3. Easy Rider

Easy Rider Active Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    It is a problem common to all modern cars; it is just a matter of degree.