Dead TPMS, out of extended warranty...options?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by macmaster05, Nov 3, 2019.

  1. macmaster05

    macmaster05 Senor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    4,020
    709
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yesterday while I was driving my 2010 with 99,000 miles, my TPMS alarm came on. I immediately filled the tires, drove several more miles and still the alarm was on. I tried resetting it to no avail and determined the TPMS must be malfunctioning, as the light blinks for several seconds and then stays on. The Prius manual says to visit the service dealer when this happens. Maybe it's dead TPMS battery.

    I purchased this car via private party and it came with a 100,000 mile MaxCare warranty transferred from the previous owner. I looked up my warranty tonight and to my dismay, it also carried a 6-year limit. In other words, I am 5 months out of warranty. How much does the 2010-2015 Prius TPMS cost to replace? It's more of an annoyance than anything, but right now I'm most annoyed that this happened just now. Thank you!
     
  2. StarCaller

    StarCaller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    1,064
    575
    0
    Location:
    Cedar Crest, NM, USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
  3. Rebound

    Rebound Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    3,714
    2,322
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    The sensors aren’t too expensive, but you have to unmount the tires and program the new ones in using TechStream. And to do this, you must have the ID numbers printed on the new TPMS sensor. IOW, if you install the new sensors and mount the tires, they won’t work. You’ll then have to unmount the tires to get the numbers off the sensors.

    My advice is do this when you next need tires, and replace/re-register the TPMS then.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  4. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,577
    14,414
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Also using Techstream, you can lower the pressure of each tire simultaneously, and watch the tire pressures to see which one is not registering ;).

    Then you know which one to go replace when the time comes:).

    Good luck and keep us posted (y).
     
    Georgina Rudkus likes this.
  5. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    6,864
    5,446
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    Parts and labor ~$150-$$200 at a dealer (OEM parts). Parts and labor ~$50 at local tire shop, most likely aftermarket TPMS sensor, but you can ask for OEM. You may have to pay extra and wait for them to get it. You can get OEM or After market TPMS sensor on-line ~$30-$50, but you will need to take your car to a tire shop to install it and relearn. You could just wait until next tire change. Most tire shops will include TPMS installation free of charge or included in the total fee or small fee ~$5-$10 if you supply TPMS sensor.
     
    #5 Salamander_King, Nov 4, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2019
    Georgina Rudkus likes this.
  6. Rebound

    Rebound Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    3,714
    2,322
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    The car won’t “relearn” the new sensor. You have to code in the ID number using TechStream. And the ID number is printed on the TPMS sensor, so if you get them installed and you didn’t write down the numbers first, they cannot be registered and the TPMS won’t work until you have your tires unmounted.
     
  7. RRxing

    RRxing Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    2,184
    1,467
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    For a 2010 with 99K miles, it would be best to replace all four at once, since whichever one(s) are causing the current problem means the remaining good ones are probably on their way out as well...
     
  8. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    6,864
    5,446
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    All you need is a handheld TPMS scanning/programing/relearning tool like Autel TS508. Yes, if you do it with Techstream or cheaper relearn tool like Ateq Quickset, then you have to have the sensor ID written down, otherwise you have no way to input and program ECU. A TPMS scanner will get the ID even inside of the tire (as long as the sensor is still good). Almost any tire shop has one of those handheld TPMS scanning/programing/relearning tool that do not require unmounting tire to check the TPMS sensors. And this OBD relearn procedure is included in the TPMS service for installation or tire changes. If you have the tool you can DIY very easily. I just swapped winter tires on our Nissan. Just like Toyota, Nissan TPMS requires OBDII relearn procedure. But, I never had to write down ID's when changing two sets of wheels/tires (with two distinctive sets of TPMS sensors inside tires). It took me 30 sec to complete the whole procedures. The procedure is the same for Prius (and all other cars that use OBDII TPMS relearn).

    IMG_20191103_152127-vert.jpg
     
    #8 Salamander_King, Nov 4, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2019
  9. macmaster05

    macmaster05 Senor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    4,020
    709
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hey thanks everybody! I decided I'll just leave it as is and ask to have it re-set/re-installed with my next set of tires. I figure people got along fine before they ever existed....Thank you again!
     
  10. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    6,864
    5,446
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius Prime
    Model:
    LE
    Just remember that a few states that require state inspection do require working TPMS to pass. If you don't have state inspection, then you are fine. Even if you have state inspection, many states including mine, as I found out after spending a lot of money on fixing TPMS on my old HCH, do not require working TPMS as a part of criteria for passing the inspection.

    You can check it here: https://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/techpage.jsp?techid=214
     
  11. ALS

    ALS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    566
    275
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
Loading...