1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Dealer: "No XM"

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by tennfan, Aug 9, 2008.

1. tennfan

tennfan New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    So, this was a mixed week in my life on the waiting list,. I got my allocation notice, which is great, but was told by my salesman that his inventory manager said that it was now "not possible" to have XM installed.

He said there was a major backlog that has resulted in Toyota putting a total hold on installing XM. I had seen a previous post from a couple of months ago about shortages, but wanted to know if anyone else had heard this (or had any thoughts on its level of truthiness).

Also, wanted to find out if the XM that you can order through the PriusChat store is then covered under warranty... I know it's an OEM part, but I'm very new to this stuff.

Thanks!

2. acidburn517

acidburn517 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    My dealer told me the same thing. In my original specs, I wanted to have sirius or xm installed. When I finally got the notice about the allocation, my dealer said that they were unable to install the sat radio from the factory/at port but it would be possible to get it installed at the dealership. However, this would mean it would cost 600$ instead of 499$ as indicated on toyota's "Build it yourself" section on their website. I thought that was a bit weird (and a bit of BS). So I declined the sat radio and if I decide I want it, I might just get those portable ones and not have one built in (although that would have been cool)

3. gkh

gkh Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
  4. drcpage

drcpage Desires maximum entropy.

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    do you think this has anything to do with the merger? personally, I'm going to wait several months until the new "sirius xm" hardware emerges and then get one for my car.