1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Decreasing MPG & Check engine light

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by micheline212, Nov 13, 2013.

1. micheline212

micheline212 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello!
    I'm new to the Prius family. I have a 2009 package 2 Prius. Approx 90k miles, up to date with oil changes, air filter changes etc.
    Over the past month or so the mpg has been dropping. From 50/51 to 47mpg. Doesn't seem like much but it refuses to come back to the 50mpg range. Now that winter weather is upon us (already snowed here) I know the mpg isn't coming back any time soon.
    This evening the CEL came on. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas. Maybe the dropping in mpg and the CEL are related?
    Sorry. I'm so new to hybrids so every little thing it does is new and sometimes scary.
    Thanks so much!

2. dorunron

dorunron Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    The Prius is like any other car. The mileage is best in the summer and worst during winter. There are a number of things that factor in, so I would not fret over the MPG dropping the small amount you are seeing.

Concerning the CEL, I would have the codes read. With todays cars a CEL can mean a whole of things. It can be minor, or major. Without knowing the actual code, it is guesswork.