1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Did you install your DICE? A little help, please, with my DICE install?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by ualdriver, May 29, 2008.

1. ualdriver

ualdriver Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Hi-

I'm going to attempt the physical install of the Dice device either today or withing the next few days, but I have never done an install like this before. I'm relatively handy, but have never done stereo-type installs with a car. I did a search and found the .pdf file with the VAIS install and read the DICE manual, but I have a few questions that I hope someone can help me with.

1) I DO NOT have to remove the radio, correct? It looks like I only have to remove the lower glove box and the plastic panel beside the MFD and then move a wire bundle?

2) Concerning the DICE module "car config switch 1&2" and the "iPod Config. Switch 1&2" next to it, referring to pages 10, 11, and 12 in the installation manual, how did you configure your switches? I'm assuming that the "car config switch" 1 should be off, and the switch 2 should be on, to comply with the MP3 chart on page 11?

I'm assuming that the "iPod Config Switch" that 1&2 should be both be in the "off" position since text is supported by the display, per page 12?

3) I read in one of the DICE threads that the 12V battery DOES NOT need to be disconnected during the DICE install? Is that true?

4) This Silverline DICE module came with 2 cables. After having read the threads I searched and looking at the VAIS .pdf install file, I'm assuming that the cable I need to be using is the "longer" one that has the black tipped, 12 pin connector? The other one, I assume, is for a non-Prius car?

The black 12 pin connector goes to the DICE module?