1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Difficulty jumpstarting from the front/engine.

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Cloudx007, May 2, 2017.

1. Cloudx007

Cloudx007 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    So I'm having some difficulty with jump starting my car from the engine area, wondering if there's any troubleshooting steps I can do to figure out where the issue is.

Admittedly, I am a newb to this.

I bought one of those self-jump start units. Hooked the red to the red, then hooked the black to various places on the engine, as well as a bolt/nut thats just a bit above the red. Never managed to jump it this way. Hooking it into the back, I had no problem jump starting the car (after army crawling through it.. prying floor board open, and removing the storage compartment.... no easy task when the trunk is full. Whoever thought of this design... ugh. e.e)

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    one thing is that the jump terminal only has metal on one side. so you have to make sure your connecting the clamp properly.
    another could be that a bad cell in the 12v is causing interference, and it would have to be disconnected.

Mendel Leisk likes this.
  3. Cloudx007

Cloudx007 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I did notice that. The clamp had a secure lock on it, in my opinion. The clamp doesnt have those protruding bits to lock onto bolts nicely like some more expensive models have, as a result, it seemed fairly clamped onto the little metal bit.

This is the style of the clamp:
    [​IMG]

4. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Some clamps may not conduct well from both sides of the jaws, so make sure you connect the side with the actual wire to the metal side of the jump terminal in the fuse box.

5. Cloudx007