1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Does the 2010 really have issues??

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by StephenJ, Aug 20, 2017.

1. StephenJ

StephenJ Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Hello! Newbie here. I've never owned a Prius but my daughter likes them so I'm looking around for used ones. Most of the ones I've found in my budget are 2009 and 2010. On the car complaints website the 2010 as a lot of complaints, far more than the 09 and I believe the most of any year. I thought maybe you guys could fill me in about that model. My daughter would prefer the 2010 but I don't want to get a car plagued with issues. Is the drivetrain substantially different from 2009 to 2010 or did they just give it a little facelift? Are the complaints for the 2010 just little things that most previous owners would have worked out and fixed by now so shouldn't be an issue at this point?

Just trying to figure out what I may be walking into with a 2010 vs 2009.

Thanks!
    Stephen

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

unfortunately, some do. and figuring out if a used one does is problematic. most serious is oil burning around 100k. but it's a small percentage of total vehicles, and most have no problem.
    the other thing is rattles, which you can find in a test drive.
    2009 is pretty bullet proof. how many miles on them?

3. StephenJ

StephenJ Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Most have between 100k-150k. Im really looking for 125k or less.

Does the oil consumption a deteriorating issue that gets worse the more miles you go or does it start up and just kind of stay the same for years?

4. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base