1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Does the car remap or recalibrate the HV battery?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by GrumpyCabbie, Jan 1, 2013.

1. GrumpyCabbie

GrumpyCabbie Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    As per the title, does the car remap or recalibrate the HV battery parameters depending on use?

The reason I ask is that I used to be a taxi driver giving the car a hard life in slow, crawling, stop start traffic for 10+ hours a day. I then left the taxi world and am back on the corporate ladder with a 60 mile (30 each way) daily commute with minimal stop start driving. Apart from seeing my mpg's climb up nicely I noticed something weird happen which I'll try and explain below.

When I used the car as a taxi I noticed that the HV battery didn't quite hold the same charge as when new in that it wouldn't go far on electric when in slow traffic before the engine kicked in. The daily average mpg's were the same but the distance travelled on electric was noticeably shorter. At the time I thought it was due to a failing or aging HV battery.

After about 6 weeks of my new usage patterns with my easy (on the car) commute, one evening I noticed a weird happening with the HV battery levels in that they were 3 bars from top for ages and just wouldn't go higher, then they went to 1 bar from full and stayed there for a longer time than I'd ever noticed before. At this point I entered my home town and the car seemed to stay on electric much more often in the slow traffic and for a much further distance. I thought it was a one off or maybe even a problem developing, but since then the car is much more economical, happier to cruise in start stop traffic on electric for much much longer.