1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Does the Prius get better mpgs after more miles break it in?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by ataylorracing, May 22, 2012.

1. ataylorracing

ataylorracing ataylorracing

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Does the Prius model cars get better mpg after more miles are put on them, or is that a thing of the past?

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    My Prius started at 42 MPG and is currently having a lifetime average of 46.
    My MPG does go down with new tires, so some part of it is that.
    I suspect I am a more frugal driver after 3 years, someone like John1701a who has had (at least) 4 Prius may be able to say how much is just driver training.

But I do think various mechanical bits get worn smooth over time.

3. F8L

F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes but I think most of it is due to tire break. I would think that drivetrain break in would help since friction may be reduced as you well know. :)

4. Sergio-PL

Sergio-PL Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I would say that the most important part in lowering consumption in (first time) driver in Prius is the driver itself. Only 2-nd/3-rd new Prius owners could really say whether it's because of break in or driver experience ;)

Tire break definitely helps, clean air filter (after service) and fresh engine oil. (And warm not hot ambient temperatures)

5. walter Lee

walter Lee Hypermiling Padawan

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    The fuel efficiency of my 2010 Prius incrementally improved over the last two and a half years - but it was due to me picking up additional driving skills needed to drive the Prius more efficiently.

6. KK6PD

KK6PD _ . _ . / _ _ . _

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A