1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Driveline chatter

Discussion in 'Prius v Main Forum' started by zylona, Dec 11, 2011.

1. zylona

zylona Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Four
    I'm new to Prius V ownership. Just bought it a month ago. I do have a question regarding what I can best describe as driveline chatter. It seems that when I slow down to a point where the EV mode takes over and then speed up again, the Prius will chatter as it makes the transition from electric to gas. Is this a normal thing for a Prius to do. It goes away after the pedal is further depressed and doesn't last for long. It seems just at the transition from EV to ECO (engine) mode.

2. David

David Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    The V is my 4th Prius. Occasionally in all 4 I've heard what I think you are talking about. It's the very occasional noise and vibration as the gas engine either turns on or off. I either stopped noticing it after a while or it stopped happening.

The other noise or vibration unique to the Prius is as you are slowing around 8 MPH the brakes will switch from regenerative to disk. There is also a slightly different feel after this has happened. Over time this also seemed to diminish.

If it is still noticeable and bothers you definitely bring it up when you bring your car in for the first service.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    is it different than the one you test drove?

4. zylona

zylona Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Four
    I bought the one I tets drove so I have nothing to compare it to.