1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Drum won't fit over new shoes

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by BlueOfLA, Jul 19, 2017.

1. BlueOfLA

BlueOfLA Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi!
    I'm new to the Prius world. I picked up an 2002 Prius a few months ago, and liked it enough to upgrade to the 2nd gen - now I'm on a 2008 Prius!

I was doing some repairs to the brakes since they needed to be replaced. I took care of the front, but now I'm stuck on the rear.

I've been struggling to fit my old drum over my new brake shoes and I have tried just about everything for hours and have not been able to make a fit:
    -Adjustment star wheel adjusted to lowest thickness
    -Wheel cylinder pistons fully compressed
    -Verified everything is where it should be according to the Rear drum brake service manual

I can put the drum over the shoes, and after much jamming in frustration I can partially fit the drum, but I need a good fit or the wheels will be locked up.

Attached are many pictures of my situation. Both before and after new shoes.

The old shoes seen in the first picture is when I first took off the drum. The Wheel cylinder pistons are out, and the star wheel is out quite a bit.. how was there this much space in the drum before? The left shoe has minimal wear, and the right shoe is maybe at 1.7mm. I had to replace the wheel cylinder because of a leak.

I'm not sure what else to do. I'm about to put on my old brake shoes, try to return these since they appear to be the wrong size, and find a new supplier. Does anyone have suggestions for what I can try, or recommendation for replacement shoes?