1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

ECO Score Clarification

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by Jcsheridan226, Jul 24, 2013.

1. Jcsheridan226

Jcsheridan226 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Hi All,

I am still new to driving the C and was hoping for some knowledge about Eco Score. Anytime I go up a hill, I am entering the power(red) zone. Is this the equivalent of "red-lining" a normal car? I'm concerned that going up hills is abiding my engine.

I would be going about 20 mph(in a 45mph zone) if I stayed out of the red zone going uphill. I don't want to make motorists behind me angry :)

How do you all approach hills?

2. Jcsheridan226

Jcsheridan226 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Abusing not abiding :)

3. DKTVAV

DKTVAV Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    No, red zone is not 7,000 rpm "red lining" in a regular car. I believe C is computer controlled and it won't let you "rev" the engine. So you're OK in the red zone just not good MPG while in there.

For hills I try not to drive in the red zone if no one behind me. When someone in the back I drive the speed limit so I won't upset them too much.

Fahfoofnik likes this.
  4. Jcsheridan226

Jcsheridan226 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Three

Ok, thanks for the clarification. I do the same, staying in green or EV mode when I can

5. Rob.au

Rob.au Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    i-Tech
    No, not at all. Try to stay out of the red area for fuel economy, but if you can't, you can't.

You actually cannot red-line a Prius. The computer controls the throttle and not only will it not redline the engine, but if I understand it correctly, it also won't bother revving past the point that generates the maximum torque.

minkus likes this.
  6. Jcsheridan226

Jcsheridan226 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c