1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Effect of power line falling on 2010 prius

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by capepetrel, Apr 28, 2016.

1. capepetrel

capepetrel New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi I'm new to this chat. But I own a 2010 Prius II and on 7 April the power company knocked a power line onto my car and 6 others in our parking lot at work. My car was on because I was int it! I was about to leave for an appointment. It caused the car to shut off and then it siad several errors. First it would not recognize the key. Then it would not once on. The radio was buzzing too so the car must have been on. There was a live line sparking on the flat spot on the hood. Finally the line men noticed me and had me turn on the car and back out. But when I did that, the car said it did not recognize the hybrid drive and it had the giant exclamation point on the left side of the display. The car smelled of burned electrical wires. It drove though and i immediately took it to the Toyota dealer but they say they can't replicate the errors, although they saw the error when it arrived. The computer is not showing any codes. So they say the car is fine. I'm concerned about the safety of this car and the long term repercussions of the voltage. It was 60,000 volts. Any ideas.

bisco likes this.
  2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Have you documented your situation. I would want my insurance company to know there might be a claim. I would want to get names and licenses of the linemen. Have you notified the power company you might have a claim?

Your witnesses memories are not getting any clearer. (linemen, mechanics at the dealership, etc)