1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Engine Shaking/White Smoke After Cleaning - 2011 Generation 3 Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by An2TheTwan, Jul 6, 2022.

1. An2TheTwan

An2TheTwan Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello, hoping I don't have a blown head gasket

Hello, I started receiving the shaking during startup about two weeks ago. It would go away at higher speeds. At this time I did not notice any white smoke from exhaust
    - I was getting the P0303 misfire.
    -All at once I decided to change the spark plugs, clean fuel injectors, PCV valve, clean intake manifold and cleaned the EGR pipe, but have not cleaned the EGR system.

-My car has been sitting for about 4-5 days now, and haven't driven much at all the past two weeks (I am an Uber/Lyft driver).
    - My engine coolant level has been sitting at the low line for a while now, but hasn't fallen below it.
    (This winter, it did seem to rapidly drop over the course of about 1 month, but once I filled the coolant back up, I haven't lost much/any)

-After cleaning system/replacing spark plugs, upon reassembly, I am now receiving heavy shaking and white smoke from exhaust. Car also doesn't seem to be moving right, but did not want to take it too far.

***So I guess my main questions are:
    -When taking apart intake manifold etc... is it possible the heavy shaking/white smoke was caused by reassembly error?
    -Im not losing coolant and my misfire was not in spark plug #1, which I heard is typically the headbasket.

Any other advice or insight would be greatly appreciated.

2. An2TheTwan

An2TheTwan Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Update. It seems the white smoke/heavy shaking worked itself out after running the car for a while. Car seems to be moving fine.