1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Engine start-up: Weirdly fast

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by hbrubi, Jan 31, 2023.

1. hbrubi

hbrubi Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hi everyone. I've been driving my 2006 Prius (145K miles) for seven years now (!), with a refurbed hybrid battery installed in June 2020. For all of that time, the engine has started about 10-15 seconds after powering on / "Ready" mode, as I understand is normal.

On the past six start-ups, however, the engine starts *immediately* upon "Ready" mode—as soon as I power the car on. Any clue what this is about? Incidentally, it started right after a friend drove the car. I'm wondering if it's possible she accidentally pressed something?

I haven't had the chance to drive the car more than a few minutes in these last weeks, but it also seems like the engine is *never* shutting off—i.e., even when it appears from my screen that I'm in full-on hybrid/coasting mode without using the engine, I still hear it running. Thoughts??

Thanks for your help!

2. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You may be having an issue with the used HV battery you installed 2+ years ago. Do you have any warning lights displayed on the dash?
    Generally speaking you don't want to leave the vehicle sit unused for any length of time, this can lead to 12v or HV battery failure in the future.

When required, the vehicle will run the engine to provide heat or AC as needed, see if turning either/both off allows the engine to cycle again.

3. hbrubi

hbrubi Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Two