1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Engine Temp Info/Gauge

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by knite75, Jul 8, 2013.

1. knite75

knite75 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Hello

I'm new to the Prius family.

I bought this lovely little thing last week and drove from LA to Vegas and back over the weekend.

This is my first hybrid.

For the life of me, I cannot find how to display the engine temperature. Any idea?

2. jdenenberg

jdenenberg EE Professor

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius
    Model:
    LE AWD-e
    You need to get a Prius aware OBD2 scanner. There are several that can display engine/car data in real time:
    1. ScanGauge2 - Simple display of up to for data items for about $150
    2. Torque Pro - An Android app for $5 plus you need a Bluetooth OBD2 dongle ($15 - $50) and an android phone/tablet.
    3. Priidash - A somewhat "techy" free windows/Linux application that will run on any pc/tablet but again you need a Bluetooth dongle.
    JeffD

ralleia likes this.
  3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome, all the best!(y)

4. knite75

knite75 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Thank you fo the quick reply.

I was hoping for a simple toggle display on the dashboard.

The ambient temp of my whole trip was 100+ degree. Going up a long steep incline, I was getting worried about the engine temp.

Thanks gain.

5. prev93

prev93 Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    And where would I be able to buy a ScanGauge2 for $15?

6. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    there is no temp gauge on the car, but you'll get a warning if you overheat. more concerning is the hybrid battery, make sure you keep the a/c on when the outside temp is hot. if you're comfortable, so is your battery.

7. knite75