English MFD on Japanese Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Hybreed, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. Hybreed

    Hybreed New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    8
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello world, this is my first post on this forum. I find this community enriched with so much of technical knowledge which answered lot of my questions.. thank you all!!:):)

    Japanese to English Problem

    I have a Japanese Prius, But I read English...:rolleyes::rolleyes: I have read in several threads here, this language changing topic has been addressed, but could not see a solution (as far as I could read).

    My question now..

    1. Is it possible to replace the MFD of a Japanese Prius with an English Prius MFD? (in order to converting into English?)
    2. Will it be compatible in that way?
    3. what I think is that all the control system architecture for the prius would be the same, but at the human interfacing point, the MFD's interfacing software is integrated such that it shows Japanese or English... if this is true, will not there exist such a way to swap some hardware, so that simultaneously the interfacing languages will be swapped?!!! ex: replacing the MFD ROM?!!!
    Can anybody please help?...


    thank you all
    Chinthaka
     
    haider likes this.
  2. Hybreed

    Hybreed New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    8
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    :rolleyes::rolleyes: anybody? if anyone has some solution, please let me know...:)
     
  3. jelloslug

    jelloslug It buffed right out!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    813
    52
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I don't see why an MFD from a North American car would not work in a Japanese car. You should just verify that the pinouts on both MFDs are the same.
     
    haider likes this.
  4. ken1784

    ken1784 SuperMID designer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    2,940
    1,347
    67
    Location:
    Yokohama, JAPAN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It looks the official Toyota Sri Lanka does not sell Prius.
    Is it gray market Japanese Prius?
    What company did sell you Prius?
    Do you have the user manual?
    Who does user support?
    Who will do the maintenance?
    Why did you buy Prius which you can't read the display?

    I think you bought one at your own risk.
    Sorry, but I can't help.
    I think no one has replaced it with English version.

    [email protected]
     
  5. Hybreed

    Hybreed New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    8
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    hi... its been a while though...thank you anyway... Ill keep trying :):):):)
     
  6. tdn

    tdn Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    14
    4
    0
    Location:
    Russia
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    In Russia, these works are carried out, cost about 500 dollars to perform necessary monitor. I have a Japanese Prius and I thought that the translation from Japanese for 500 dopllarov for me dearly.
     
    Data Daedalus and Hybreed like this.
  7. Hybreed

    Hybreed New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    8
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    hey tdn, thanks a lot for the information. obviously it should be costly...
     
  8. tdn

    tdn Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    14
    4
    0
    Location:
    Russia
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    No specific details - remove the monitor and sent to Russia, and the software closed and instructions on how to program in the public domain does not. This is handled by experts, I can give you their contacts. Maybe you would be cheaper just to buy English MFD?
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. GrumpyCabbie

    GrumpyCabbie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    6,723
    2,117
    45
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Would you need the US LHD Prius board or the UK RHD board? Or are they both the same?

    Have you got a gen2 or gen3 Prius?

    I hear what you're saying. You wonder if you can remove the Japanese module and replace it with an English language one. It might work but could prove an expensive experiment if it doesn't work. I suppose you could always sell the module on ebay if it doesn't work with your car.
     
  10. Hybreed

    Hybreed New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    8
    1
    0
    Location:
    Sri Lanka
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Im am looking buy a gen 3 prius... and my friend already has a gen 2 prius and desperately wanted to do the language alteration... so i am kind of interested in both prii ....

    I am gonna need UK RHD board... and looking for some one who have already done the swapping... because, may be it could be just un plug & re plug... but sometimes it may involve some parameter resetting/ calibrations/ etc involved.. and what kind of tools devices im gonna need..? :(
     
  11. tdn

    tdn Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    14
    4
    0
    Location:
    Russia
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    All board the same!
    Only some features are not available in LHD displays will not work after the change - for example the Japanese navigation. I'm talking about the Prius in the NHW20! Another important point to monitors and restyling after differ, change is possible but it needs some work. Also different 5 button and 7 button version of MFD.
     
  12. B5er

    B5er Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    13
    1
    0
    Location:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Were you ever successful in this project?
    I have same problem, and needed to know if these ebay consoles will work on my RHD Japanese Prius.
     
  13. 6ick6

    6ick6 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Aruba
    Vehicle:
    2012 Aqua
    Model:
    N/A
    Interested in this as well.
     
  14. RajMauritius

    RajMauritius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    1
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I have the same question. I wanted to replace the MFD with an original English MFD, Will it work same to same but in English?
    If anyone has an answer plz let me know thanx.
     
  15. psymon100

    psymon100 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    21
    7
    1
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    What's happenin'?

    I'm interested in the answer as well. Just wondering if on the gen 2 with right hand drive models anyone has tried swapping in an english MFD (like PN 86110-47080) to replace a japanese MFD (like 86110-47062).

    Ideally at a minimum the: consumption, energy monitor, and climate controls would work. I'm sure someone somewhere must have tried it, I just can't find a definitive answer.
     
    #15 psymon100, May 23, 2019
    Last edited: May 23, 2019
  16. psymon100

    psymon100 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    21
    7
    1
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    just decided to have another look & I found this: Changing Japanese MFD | PriusChat

    fantastic news!
     
Loading...