Entune broken...

Discussion in 'Prime Audio, Electronics, and Infotainment' started by mercat68, Sep 19, 2017.

Tags:
  1. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    272
    203
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    ...in iOS 11. Toyota, are you listening?
     
  2. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    272
    203
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Never mind - apparently a temp problem. Froze several times, but now working.
     
  3. mmmodem

    mmmodem Taste Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    2,626
    1,575
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Entune has been broken since iOS 7. In other words the first iteration of Entune, over 5 years ago. I just finished a Toyota marketing survey that asked how important Apple Carplay is to me. Hope Toyota listens.
     
    bisco likes this.
  4. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    272
    203
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Been working well for me in 10.3.3, but definitely buggy w/ iOS 11. I got it working, but then had a couple issues that required a log out/log back in. Just a friendly warning to iPhone users that you might want to wait for the next Entune app update (or first iOS 11 patch) before doing the 11 update.
     
  5. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    83,689
    36,615
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    you can't break something that never worked properly.
     
    ttait and mmmodem like this.
  6. priuscatprimeguy

    priuscatprimeguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    2,727
    2,620
    0
    Location:
    Farmington Hills, Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced

    oooohhhhh, just watch me:mad::p
     
  7. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    272
    203
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Boy, Entune really is a raw nerve around here ;)
     
  8. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    83,689
    36,615
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    you think?:p
     
    mercat68 likes this.
  9. mmmodem

    mmmodem Taste Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    2,626
    1,575
    0
    Location:
    Milpitas, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Entune, to Toyota's credit worked well with iOS 6. It started getting buggy in 7, random disconnects requiring restart of the car. In 8, some things stopped working entirely. I deleted it. I came back for 9 and 10 to see if things improved. They didn't. The latest Entune update a couple years ago removed Microsoft Bing support and that was it.
     
    #9 mmmodem, Sep 19, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2017
  10. bps

    bps Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    298
    112
    0
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Entune is a joke! If they ask me on the phone in 3 years to pay for it, I’m going to start laughing hysterically.
     
  11. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    4,638
    3,524
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Not that I am interested in using it, but just out of curiosity, can Entune be any use without data connection? I use Windows phone for my voice call. My Prime pairs with my phone every time I get in, and I have never had problem with making or receiving phone call via Bluetooth. I do not use cell data connection on my phone, so I did not set up Entune on my Prime. Beside there seems to be no Entune app for Windows phone anyway. So to date, I am clueless as to what all the fass is about this shelfware. :rolleyes:
     
  12. mercat68

    mercat68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    272
    203
    0
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    You need a data connection. Entune just ports various apps over to your head unit and provides a few other data-dependent features, such as sports scores, fuel prices, etc. You could just use native apps via Bluetooth for Pandora, iHeart, etc., rather than Entune, but I find Entune makes it easier, putting everything in one place with on-screen controls. Of course, if you don't have a data plan, you're not streaming anything. Entune works great for me, despite all the hate it attracts here. Sure, it could use a slicker interface and more apps, but far from shelfware.
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
  13. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    4,638
    3,524
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Thanks for answering my question. You just saved me about 1 hour of my time reading the manual on use of Entune. ;) All my misic are in USB memory, and I don't do any streaming, nor do I have a phone with data connection. So for me, it is going to stay as shelfware, so it seems.(y)
     
    mercat68 likes this.
Loading...