Entune: System not installed (after 5.1 update) - 2012 Prius v (lowercase v for the v wagon)

Discussion in 'Prius v Audio and Electronics' started by triumphGuy, Oct 13, 2015.

  1. triumphGuy

    triumphGuy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    2012 Prius v (lowercase v for the Prius v wagon); Display Audio with Navigation and Entune

    1. Downloaded the 5.1 upgrade from Toyota website
    2. Completed update from the USB.
    3. When I press "APPS" I get "System not Installed".
    No Navigation, no entune, no bluetooth. Radio does work
    4. Called Toyota Service, no help, they just told me to try update again. Which I did while on the phone with tyem. But unit does not recognize the USB drive.
    5. Took it into Toyota for service. They have no idea what happened or how to fix. I made sure they would not charge $ for diagnostic as this is a Toyota software bug.
    6. Dealer is contacting HQ service.


    Log:

    ********SOFTWARE UPDATE LOG********
    Value read from FRAM is 0
    This is a NA Unit.
    ERROR:could not open version.txt file from target
    Starting Update
    Total units to update: 8
    Installing unit 1 System Check
    Power sense circuit Ok
    dev-ipc operation start
    Requesting swdlToyotaManager for IOC Version
    IOC version received
    ioc application version 1.6.18
    ioc bolo version 3.2.0
    SUPPORTED IOC Bolo version 3:2:0
    Supported bootloader
    Installing unit 2 System ......

    ...<3 pages of % updating> ....

    percent = 100%
    status.value = 0, status.string = success
    qkcp done
    mmc driver operation stop
    Installing unit 8 AVC-LAN
    dev-ipc operation start
    Not in bolo mode, will put v850 in bootloader mode
    Value read from FRAM is 0
    This is a NA Unit.
    ERROR:could not open version.txt file from target
    Starting Update
    Total units to update: 8
    Installing unit 8 AVC-LAN
    dev-ipc operation start
    already in bolo mode continue with ioc update
    ioc update done
    Software Update successfully completed
    Eject USB for RESET
    ERROR: Software update complete
     
  2. Eclipse1701d

    Eclipse1701d Prius Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    645
    215
    0
    Location:
    Nature coast, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Download the software on a different computer. Use a different USB stick, and make sure it is completely blank. Transfer the files to the new stick and attempt a reinstall. It appears that the .txt file is corrupt, on your stick. Could be a bad decompression, failing hard drive or bum USB drive.

    Also, Toyota should have a fail safe to prevent the update when that file cannot be open/accessed.

    Hard to know if target is from the stick or your head unit. If the version.txt file is corrupt in the head unit, they can try to reinstall it, or replace the head unit if the firmware is corrupt.
     
  3. triumphGuy

    triumphGuy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    This is getting worse.

    It seems Toyota Service cannot fix this. They said they tried to re-apply the 5.1 update and prior versions; but it "looks" like entune/nav is completely gone.

    So their solution was/is "Toyota contacted my technician and recommend we attempt to re-install the entune 5.1 update, if we cannot successfully install the update, we may have to look into replacing the control box for the head-unit."

    So they now said the they need to replace this "control box" and they want me to pay $1600 !!!!!!!!!! Really?

    So a loyal Toyota consumer:
    1) Performs the update direct from Toyota (from the official toyotaHeadUnits link)
    2) Error on the update occurred and I now need to pay $1600?

    What is wrong with this?

    I see two issues:
    1) Why do they need replace hardware for a software issue? Does Toyota have competent computer/software technician/specialist?
    2) Then the cost issue. I follow Toyota instructions - this is an issue created the Toyota update. Why should the owner have to pay? This is not a standard mechanical breakdown.

    Yes car is out of warranty

    I have opened a case to see if Toyota will cover this out of warranty. The Toyota rep was not very user friendly. "We'll if you expect Toyota to pay 100% for everything. Just save yours and my time and I will not open the investigation." Really? She then explained that I might have to pay something. I'm not getting a good feeling from that call, that they will really investigate?

    Thoughts?
     
  4. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    1,621
    513
    1
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I for one won't update mine until they resolve this or at least put out a new version. Seems to be a clear bug.

    First, I would spend some time finding and documenting other people who had the same problem. It seems I have seen others on this site. Be sure to check the c and gen 3 forums. Contact those users if a resolution is not clear in their cases.

    Second, tone it down with reps on the phone or at the dealer. Not everyone is as up to date as you might be. Normally they try to help and your not talking to some fly by night company down the street that may be trying to get to you. You don't need them mad at you, but call again after you do number one above.

    Third, write well composed letters to the dealer, distributor and corporate. Not email. No threats, but make it professional in tone. This becomes real documentation that could be used later, especially if you send each certified.

    Finally, even if you pay stay with it. Often Toyota will reimburse when they see a pattern hitting their customers.
     
  5. ems2158

    ems2158 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    143
    94
    0
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I was able to download and install the firmware update without any problems. After reading about the problems encountered by triumpGuy and the ridiculous cost of navigation updates, I've decide my next car will be a base model without this connected garbage. Problem is getting a car without these built in apps is going to be nearly impossible to find.
     
  6. laskier

    laskier Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    11
    0
    0
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I also have the entune update issue. Tried to install 5.1 from toyotas web site, an now entune is toast. Goes to installing 3 of 8 and hangs. I also tried to reinstall 2 different earlier versions with the same results.
     
  7. Kama

    Kama New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    13
    6
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I bought my prius V itech 2014. From melbourne. Dealer Australia. After driving 11hrs or so to my home in sydney. All the app arrow Right/Left. With all entune app suit disappeared next morning. Australia toyota is full of shit. We are treated with world class left over as New Tech. For us. . i got to two Toyota dealer they knew nothing of prius V itech and said, nothing (toyota link app suit) came with my car.. I send email to Toyota regarding my firmware update. I was told contact local Toyota dealer. As if they know everthing about this firmware of premium JBL GreenEdge navi system. Shame on them. I endup calling Toyota USA from Australia regarding firmware update. And the lady said "sorry can't help you because of geo restrictions". If I ever knew this was to happen I would had standard V and saved 18 thousand dollars. Or any other car. This was my first Toyota vehicle regretfully...
     
    #7 Kama, Dec 21, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2016
  8. vdub Beet

    vdub Beet New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2017
    10
    3
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I know this is an old thread. We purchased our '12 Prius v 5 in April and I still can't figure out Entune. Does the dealer need to change any settings since we're the most recent owners? We both have Entune downloaded to our iPhones but haven't been able to associate it with the system in the vehicle. Must we have bluetooth enabled on our phones for it to work? Thanks in advance for your advice.
     
  9. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    2,611
    559
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Were you cable-connecting your iphones?

    Enable bluetooth and bluetooth networking on your iphones, go to setup/bluetooth and enable bluetooth on the car. Pair the phones. You should be good to go.
     
  10. AndrewBFrank

    AndrewBFrank New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2017
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    N/A
    I had the same problem - installed 5.1 using a flash drive, followed the instructions, it started loading and then stopped, giving me the message: ERROR: Unable tostart mmc driver successfully. Now it's caught in a nasty loop. Can't find solutions on line, just others with the same problem. Can I replace the "head" or radio itself?
     
  11. 200Volts

    200Volts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    424
    40
    1
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just killed my V model 5 Entunes. Did the current, 5.2 update, everything worked on the update, 8 of 8 successful, then it says Remove USB to complete update. Removed USB, now screen is black for a minute, nothing. Restart car and only have radio and climate. Says System Is Not Installed when I hit the Apps button.
     
  12. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    77,032
    32,385
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    put the usb back?
     
  13. 200Volts

    200Volts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    424
    40
    1
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    tried the USB again, tried download again, diconnected battery for 20 min, nothing worked. Going to dealer tomorrow.
    I can't find the 3.2 version, or I'd try to install that.
     
    bisco likes this.
  14. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    77,032
    32,385
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    please keep us posted, all the best!(y)
     
  15. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    1,621
    513
    1
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    3.2 is in this zip file but I am not sure you can go back in rev
     
  16. 200Volts

    200Volts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    424
    40
    1
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Dealer charged me $135 to diagnose, to tell me it's not working (Duh). They had to do this, so I could contact Toyota HQ Service, which I did. Toyota HQ then gave me a case # and contacts local dealer. Luckily I video recorded my install, and screen saved my download page. Long story short, Toyota HQ said Head Unit needs to be replaced, at no charge to me. I'm at the dealer now, new unit is in with 5.2 s/w and same "System Not Installed" message is shown with pressing App key. They are diagnosing....
    Also, when this originally happened my USB port stopped working. No data communicaiton. Would not charge a phone - my phone kept start/stop charging every second (maybe system was rebooting/looping - no constant power to USB por). So, no chance in hell of me recovering the head unit with new s/w (tried 2 dozen times, 2.3, 5.1, 5.2, different USB sticks, etc.).
     
  17. 200Volts

    200Volts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    424
    40
    1
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Dealer replace head unit, after I spoke with Toyota HQ. For no charge. Problem was not fixed.
    Dealer ran Diagnostics, and determined extension box was defective, so that was replaced no charge, after I spoke to Toyota HQ again.
    Now system is working. However, it says software version 3.2. And I still have the Bluetooth off message Plus entunes does not keep running on my phone with the latest Rev.
     
    bisco likes this.
  18. bpasternak

    bpasternak New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I recently purchased a 2012 Prius v Five with Navigation but without JBL. I followed the directions to upgrade exactly as they were stated and now my Entune system is bricked. Nothing but AM/FM and black screen. When I hold down the Apps button I get "System Not Installed". Has anyone had success with the 5.2 upgrade, or figured out a way to get back from the black screen abyss?
     
  19. 200Volts

    200Volts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    424
    40
    1
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    bpasternak - You're screwed. Follow what I did and Toyota district service rep should pay for everything to get things replaced.
     
Loading...