Error code: B1423 on a brand new car?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by raspy, Jul 16, 2016.

  1. raspy

    raspy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    438
    692
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just used Carista to switch to a single beep when reversing. Whilst I was in the app, just out of curiosity, I checked for error codes. I didn't expect to see anything as the car is brand new.

    However, a code did come up. Has anyone seen this before? Should I be taking the car back to the dealer to investigate further?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. booke02

    booke02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    391
    413
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My first reaction was Yes, let the dealer sort it out!

    The error code description says "Power Window RR Motor Circuit Open

    But on second thoughts, you could try resetting the error codes, and play with the RR window, and see if the code comes up again.
     
  3. raspy

    raspy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    438
    692
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I did reset the codes, and read them again, and it still came up. It's not the window, the code is for the AC, unless we have different meanings for error codes by country?

    I suspect the AC is broken somewhere, as it was 26C (79F) today here, quite humid, and despite putting the AC at LO (which is even below the 15C (59F) in the photo), it didn't cool me down. I put my hand in front of the vents and it just felt room temperature.

    I spent the whole day with the windows open, as the air outside seemed to be cooler than the air coming through the front vents.

    In your Gen 4, when you put you AC on, is it 'ice cold' at the lower temperatures?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. booke02

    booke02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    391
    413
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It is just what Mr Google told me. He can't always be trusted!

    Yes. Yesterday, with outside temperatures around 35C, I had the AC set to 24C, and it froze me.

    Sorry, but it sounds like you need a trip to your dealer.
     
  5. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    91,812
    41,424
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    if you have the temp set to low, and the a/c on, recirc mode, should be ice cold after a few minutes.

    my 3 pri have never failed to keep me comfortable up to 100 degrees outside.
     
  6. raspy

    raspy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    438
    692
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Thanks both for the feedback. I shall contact my dealer.
     
  7. PriUncut

    PriUncut Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    268
    264
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I did the same thing when I got Carista. Just to confirm, no error codes. I would bring it to the your dealers attention.
     
  8. raspy

    raspy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    438
    692
    0
    Location:
    London, UK
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Turns out there was a leak in the AC system. The dealer fixed it. Nice and cold now. I'm so glad it's a brand new car under warranty, as if I was paying for the repair myself, they said their hourly rate is 144 pounds, which is north of 200 US Dollars. Ouch.
     

    Attached Files:

    • gas.jpg
      gas.jpg
      File size:
      67.2 KB
      Views:
      0
    bisco likes this.
  9. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    91,812
    41,424
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    all the best!(y)
     
Loading...