Ev mode audible sound, how to stop the beep.

Discussion in 'Prius PHEV Plug-In Modifications' started by glyndwr, Oct 25, 2014.

  1. glyndwr

    glyndwr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    209
    28
    0
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hi all,

    I have got a plug in supply phev kit, and I live in the uk. As the software on the kit is written for the American market, I'm assuming our speeds are alittle different, ie, the phev kit always wants to enter ev mode automatically below or at 30mph, and the kit does do this, but our 30 mph speed must be different to the usa, as the kit tries to enter ev mode when I'm doing speeds of over 30mph even up to 35 mph, the the cars software stops this from happening and the audible alarm sounds, 4 beeps, and words on the led state ev mode not allowed because we are of course going too fast.
    This is of course quite annoying sometimes when the kit is constantly trying to get into ev mode and alarms are frequent at speeds between 30 and 35 mph, over this speed the kit stops trying to go into ev mode.
    The kit is working really well to be honest, and I am very pleased with the way it works.

    One thing I would like to do is to try to stop the audible alarm when the ev mode is not allowed, is there a way of disabling the cannot enter ev mode chime / beep alarm with software, I do own a techstream light.

    I wish the PIS program and software was open source, I could alter the parameter myself then.

    Been as I am asking for advice may as well ask another question,
    One more slight thing that could be addressed is sometimes, but not very often, when I am driving in mixed or blended mode, the oem hybrid battery gets too full of charge and the engine starts to burn off the Excess charge in the battery, again if the PIS program was open source, I could adjust the point at which the kit battery adds into the oem battery, I would drop that parameter a volt or 2 to stop the oem battery going into excess and burn off process.

    I must say though, apart from these 2 slight annoyances, the kit is awesome.

    Any help greatly appreciated.
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,006
    40,378
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    are those imperial miles?
     
  3. Cloude1

    Cloude1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    23
    3
    0
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    There's a difference?
     
  4. glyndwr

    glyndwr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    209
    28
    0
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Don't know to be honest......

    Not sure if your miles measurement is different, can't see it though

    Or,

    The prius ev mode set for the U.S. market must be set higher than the uk market.

    In the uk, we cannot enter ev mode at speeds higher than 30 mph...
    Out of interest, what is the max speed allowable in ev mode in the states?

    Or the software on the PIS control board is programmed to ask for ev mode as speeds up to 35 mph, can't see that either as the " unable to enter ev mode at this time" bleep is really annoying when it's occuring every few seconds as the kit is requesting ev mode when I am travelling to fast for the cars ecu to allow it.

    Any ideas.... Thanks

    Just for your information some small performance figures from the kit that were done recently

    Kit comprises of 76 33ah cells, each cell is made up of 11 26650 ev batteries in parallel, I have a few weak cells that are not that far from the rest so haven't bothered to change these yet, but I am monitoring them. I do have spare cells.

    Batteries are charged to 3.45v and discharged to 2.8v

    The kit has a range in full electric mode of approximately 20 miles in moderate climate and I live in quite a hilly area.

    The pack takes approx 5.5 kwh in electric charge measured with a kilowatt type meter.

    About 90% of my driving is all local driving on urban roads where speeds don't exceed 40mph and are generally 30mph

    In the uk fuel is approx £6 per gallon or $10 per gallon.

    My last £20 of fuel (3.3 gallons) I managed to travel 890 miles, which is awesome, that's why I am very pleased with the kit and the way the car works, it's not perfect, but it will fill the gap until a true ev becomes much more affordable here in the uk.

    Anthony.
     
    Britprius likes this.
  5. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,857
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Anthony I believe the US Prius can operate in EV mode up to 36 mph. This seems strange when they do not get the EV switch in there vehicles. Our vehicles drop out of EV at 31 mph, and even without an added EV kit. This is 31 mph indicated and means the real road speed is about 27 mph. I find it annoying trying to travel at 30 mph in EV to keep up with other traffic, and descending a gentle slope the car gains 1mph and drops out of EV. I would also find it useful to be able to use cruise control while in EV, but this is locked out. I also have the problem of using EV when the battery is at full green bars the car locking out EV but burning off energy spinning the engine.
    I have tried to dismiss the beep for EV and reverse through Techstream with no luck, and I am seriously considering cutting the print to the piezo transducer and fitting a small press button switch out of the way on the dash.

    John (Britprius)
     
    #5 Britprius, Oct 26, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2014
  6. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    90,006
    40,378
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    is it the prius regulating ev, or the piss kit?

    anthony, have you spoken to robb about this?
     
  7. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,857
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I wonder if a divide by 2 chip in the speed signal line would help. I know this would halve the speedo reading, but that would for me be no big deal unless it interfered with the navigation, and mfd fuel readouts. I think some digging is required.

    John (Britprius)
     
  8. glyndwr

    glyndwr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    209
    28
    0
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hi john,

    It sounds as if you have already tried the things I am trying to achieve without success, damn shame that.

    I can travel faster of course in oog mode, and I do quite regularly, as most of my mileage is local, low speed, and well within my ev range, but when in blended the bleep is annoying from the kit trying to enter ev when too fast is annoying.

    John, is there anyone out there that has the knowledge for us to try to alter some setting in our prius ecu to maybe up the ev speed limit like the usa speed settin, that would be very useful indeed.
     
  9. glyndwr

    glyndwr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    209
    28
    0
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hi bisco,

    The car ecu in the uk stops ev mode if green bars all full ( which don't make sense to me that we can't use electric energy when the battery is full)
    Also the car ecu stops ev mode if travelling faster than 31 mph as britprius has also confirmed.

    I haven't spoken to,robb about this particular query, I have found him very helpful, but I did ask him before abouth the program and it is not available to customers to modify themselves.
    I maybe could return it to the States and ask him to do a bespoke setting for us in the uk, maybe it's something I could consider, but would not be comfortable sending my pcb across the pond and risk it getting lost or damaged. I have to weigh up the risks and balance thing out.

    I may fire an email off to him anyway and see what he suggests.

    Thanks for the replies guys.
    Anthony
     
  10. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,857
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Anthony I do not know of anyone that has managed to re program the Prius ecu's. Most modifications seemed to be based on feeding the ecu's false information. I am not prepared to risk loosing or corrupting the programming of my own ecu's, but I would like to have a go if I could get hold of a set of ecu's at little or no cost to risk hacking.

    John (Britprius)
     
  11. glyndwr

    glyndwr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    209
    28
    0
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Totally agree John, it's not worth the risk of damaging our ecu,s to do that, the risks far outweigh the benefit,

    The alarm in question, where is it located and has it other functions, can it be got at easily...

    can the alarm be physically disconnected... If it's only the ev alarm, I wouldn't mind just unplugging it, if it could be done of course.
     
  12. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,857
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    The alarm is part of the combination meter (speedo display) so needs partial dismantling of the dash. I do not know what other functions it gives warnings for but probably seat belts among others. It is a small round black plastic housing soldered direct to the print. (I will see if I can find a picture)

    John (Britprius)
     
  13. glyndwr

    glyndwr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    209
    28
    0
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I suppose nothing is ever simple these days when working on cars, mores the pity
     
  14. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,857
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
  15. glyndwr

    glyndwr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    209
    28
    0
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hi john, tried that link the video no longer exists buddy, checked all the videos on YouTube by luscious garage but couldn't find it, did see another video showing the cm module, but not how it gets fitted with dash removal, looks potchy though
     
  16. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,857
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Strange I can no longer watch it either although I did just before posting. If you go to the link and scroll down to the second picture the sounder is under the white cover where the round bulge is.

    John (Britprius)
     
  17. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,857
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
  18. glyndwr

    glyndwr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    209
    28
    0
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Thanks John got it now, cheers
     
  19. MJFrog

    MJFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    780
    263
    0
    Location:
    NE Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    2018 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    N/A
    John,

    Are you using the PIS kit? When the car is spinning the engine to burn off energy have you tried just shutting off the PHEV kit until the battery level drops? Also, are you monitoring the REAL SOC in addition to the spoofed SOC? If so, then shut the kit off when the REAL SOC exceeds 75%.
     
  20. glyndwr

    glyndwr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    209
    28
    0
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hi mj,

    I haven't got a scan gauge but have got paid torque app, plus i also have a techstream.

    I have read a few threads which relate to the monitoring of spoofed and real soc, could you please try to explain in detail how I could monitor both of those readings when using the torque app.

    I am sure what I monitor at the moment is the spoofed soc so I think I should get the real soc readings displaying alongside the spoofed soc.....

    Many thanks, anthony.
     
Loading...