1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

EV Mode in Normal Drive

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Sumedha, Jul 27, 2013.

1. Sumedha

Sumedha Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I am new to the Prius experience as I just bought by 2013 Prius 3 last week. I have a question on the EV mode and how it works when I am in normal drive.

This is something I observed when I am driving and I wanted to check whether it's normal.

When I am accelerating, vehicle is in EV mode and the progress bar is green. As soon as it pass the separator in the hybrid indicator (it turns white), the EV mode light turns off. When I hit the brakes, speed goes down with the acceleration and the progress bar goes back towards the green side. However my EV mode light does not turn on until I go way too close to the charging section of the bar. Once it's enabled, it stays in EV mode (green) until I pass the separator again.

Is this normal ?

2. Drdiesel

Drdiesel Active Member

Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes. Search you tube for video info.

Sumedha likes this.
  3. Sumedha

Sumedha Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I was looking. Couldn't find anything for a 2012 model. :(

4. David Beale

David Beale Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    The EV mode light comes on whenever the engine shuts down. If you don't have an RPM readout it's your only way of knowing the engine is not running. The engine will shut down when it's not needed and your speed is below a certain value. Above that speed it is turned by electricity to ensure MG1 doesn't overspeed.

Don't confuse the EV mode light with selecting EV mode with a button press. They are similar but different. ;)

5. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    it is normal, is that your only question?

6. john1701a