Feature Request: Prius Gen 1 / Prius Classic Subforums

Discussion in 'PriusChat Website Questions' started by jamesprius, May 31, 2020.

  1. jamesprius

    jamesprius Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    41
    6
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    I
    We have Prius Plug-in, Gen 5, Gen 4, Gen 3, Gen 2 but no Gen 1. Gen 1 seems to buried inside Gen 2. When I first came to prius chat I thought this was strange. I actually found the Gen 1 through googling. Seems it would be helpful and easier to have a Gen 1 subforum? After all, this the generation that started it all!
     
    bisco likes this.
  2. jamesprius

    jamesprius Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    41
    6
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Is there a way to start a poll or something?
     
  3. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,370
    10,960
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It has been asked and answered previously. It would take a lot of effort to reorganize the Gen 1 forum and the site owner Danny days it stays where it is. He pays the bills so he makes the decisions.
     
  4. jamesprius

    jamesprius Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    41
    6
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Not sure of the work, but I'd assume it just needs to be created and the community could help organize?
     
  5. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    89,795
    40,255
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    shouldn't be a uge deal
     
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    10,137
    7,470
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Maybe just an easier-to-find sticky somewhere with a link to where the Gen 1 forum already is?

    I wouldn't object to the forum getting moved, if that could be done without breaking all of the links between posts and threads that exist all over PriusChat (and from outside sites into PriusChat), which would necessarily mean no changes to post numbers, among other things. But that might be a big if.

    There are lots of links relying on those numbers, for example, bisco's post just above is
    Code:
    https://priuschat.com/posts/3054165
     
    Rmay635703 likes this.
  7. Rmay635703

    Rmay635703 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    1,599
    1,035
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2013 Chevy Volt
    Model:
    N/A
    Seems like a link to the nested Gen 1.5 forum From the home page could work around the problem without re-writing the Bible
     
  8. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,370
    10,960
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    There is already a home menu item. Prius -> 1st Gen Prius.
     
  9. Rmay635703

    Rmay635703 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    1,599
    1,035
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2013 Chevy Volt
    Model:
    N/A
    Not on mobile

    unless you count Gen 1 Plug In (and this thread), I think having a link off the HOME PAGE as well wouldn’t be tough, just slide it in under the Gen 2
    1223B4A2-83CB-4921-8210-7B7D1585A27F.png
     
  10. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    10,579
    14,416
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Even on my iPhone I can see it is a sub forum in the Gen2 main section;).

    Sorry I'm not sure how to make a screen shot to show that on my phone:oops:.

    Tech savvy isn't my strongest suit:whistle:.

    But it's there from the home page(y).
     
  11. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    89,795
    40,255
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i suppose the further we get from production, the less likely we'll see a change
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  12. sam spade 2

    sam spade 2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    3,937
    1,715
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    You don't understand the situation.
    No "organization" is required.
    It just needs to be "created" and the owner has no interest in doing that.
    Continuing to worry about it will be a total waste of your time.
     
  13. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,370
    10,960
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It is there on my iPhone.

    Click the upper left menu.
    Click the down arrow beside Prius.
    Select 1st Gen Prius.
    PROFIT
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
Loading...