1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Fiat loses $14k on every 500e

Discussion in 'Prius, Hybrid, EV and Alt-Fuel News' started by bwilson4web, May 22, 2014.

1. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Source: Fiat loses $14k on every 500e it builds, Marchionne doesn't want you to buy one - Autoblog

Well Yes and No. The price of doing business in a CARB state is to sell some minimum number of similar cars. I'm not an expert in the ratios but it becomes the entrance fee to California. Sad to say, it also explains why some plug-in vehicles are not offered nationwide.

As for Marchionne's $14,000 loss per 500e, I don't have access to his actual costs versus the retail price. But I also remember the old "Dust-to-Dust" report and other hybrid skeptic reports that were so inaccurate as to be not worth the bits wasted to read. If home-brew EVs exists, it can't be that bloody expensive unless he has hired exceptionally poor production managers.

Bob Wilson

2. PriusC_Commuter

PriusC_Commuter Active Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Someone should call him the waaambulance.

3. 2k1Toaster

2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three

Quantities of scale I would imagine. I am guessing a good chunk of that cost is the new tooling and equipment required to electrify the Fiat and since they are so low quantity it very expensive per part.

So can we ask Fiat to give us $14K or threaten to buy one of their 500e's? :D

bwilson4web likes this.
  4. fjpod

fjpod Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Dumb logic. He's going to loose a lot more per car if he doesn't sell any.

5. 2k1Toaster

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I wonder how much the ZEV Credits would cost in comparison. Just forgo the EV compliance vehicle and pay the fine.