1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Finally an advanced scan tool that will program all lost smart keys without Toyota dealer

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Georgina Rudkus, Jan 9, 2022.

  1. Georgina Rudkus

    Georgina Rudkus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    3,160
    2,208
    0
    Location:
    Taylors, SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I was surprised, but this scan tool (although expensive) allows it to be done.



    It's 13:45 into the video and called SMART CODE RESET.
     
    #1 Georgina Rudkus, Jan 9, 2022
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2022
    ForestBeekeeper likes this.
  2. Johnny Cakes

    Johnny Cakes Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    1,015
    764
    2
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    How expensive is it?
     
  3. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    55,505
    38,694
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    How does it compare to Techstream?
     
  4. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    11,088
    4,511
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Lol, we have questions... And no we aren't going to watch the video. We need the person posting this to watch the video and tell us. :)
     
  5. hill

    hill High Fiber Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    19,862
    8,167
    54
    Location:
    Montana & Nashville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2018 Chevy Volt
    Model:
    Premium
    Ultimate, compared to which scan tools.
    .
     
  6. rjparker

    rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    7,947
    4,701
    7
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    #6 rjparker, Jan 9, 2022
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2022
    Mendel Leisk and hill like this.
  7. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    7,869
    3,116
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Amazon link, $699 with option to pay over 12 months zero interest:

    XTOOL D8 Diagnostic Scan Tool, 2022 Newest, ECU Coding, 31+ Resets & Bi-Directional Control, Full System Diagnostic, Key Programming, ABS Bleed, Crankshaft Relearn, Oil Reset, EPB, SAS, Support CAN FD


    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  8. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    55,505
    38,694
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Currently $899 CDN on Amazon.ca. That equates to $711 USD.
     
  9. ColoradoBoo

    ColoradoBoo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2019
    956
    628
    4
    Location:
    Monument, Colorado USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yes I'm going to buy the D7 as soon as I can scrape up enough money. My daughter only has one key fob with her Mazda CX-5 so have a replacement but needs to be programmed....both the D7 and D8 will do this. (And I want to turn off some of the alarms in my Prius, like the seat belt alarm, because I often put my backpack in the front passenger seat and the weight of it sometimes makes the car think a person is in there...very annoying.)
     
  10. hill

    hill High Fiber Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    19,862
    8,167
    54
    Location:
    Montana & Nashville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2018 Chevy Volt
    Model:
    Premium

    .
     
  11. Donald Lepsch

    Donald Lepsch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2022
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Los Alamos NM 87544
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    2010 Prius 86,000
    Cabin lights stay on…pulled the fuse …everything ok but I would like to get cabin lights on.
    Not door switch or it would show open door. This fuse pull also turns on sliding light.
    I saw some one say disconnect battery…no need to do that.
    Does anyone know which switch it is and where it is located…maybe I can buy a new one or
    Replace it with a toggle switch? Please help
    Don
     
  12. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    108,803
    49,427
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    sounds perfect for a mech or lock smithy
     
  13. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    7,869
    3,116
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Way to hijack a thread...

    Have you tried troubleshooting the dome light switch, the one on the dome light itself? Three positions, On/Off/On when door(s) open, not necessarily in that order. Maybe yours is set to On, or stuck somehow in the constant On position?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    Tombukt2 likes this.
  14. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    9,063
    1,570
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Gas cars are dying off I'm trying to not buy more ice tools make do .be worthless fast. Key fobs really . Not a thing for me anymore .I've not locked much in about 20 . But I do understand the need . Glad they're a cut key included for airport park.
     
  15. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    9,063
    1,570
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Tech s sposed to do I see screen just haven't fooled with
     
  16. tvpierce

    tvpierce Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    949
    879
    2
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Welcome!
    You're going to get more responses if you start a new thread with your particular issue in the title. (y)
     
    hill likes this.
  17. Tombukt2

    Tombukt2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    9,063
    1,570
    0
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Yeah they like to call this ho making or stealing someone else's spot . It's a thing that came with internet .don't worry bout it lots folks remember their grade school years with great fondness I am and work with foreginers all day. And I know worry for this one he he. Internet is world wide jigga your customs really mean ... Well
     
  18. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    11,088
    4,511
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    OR better yet find the existing threads for this problem via a google search and only start a new thread once you've read through all the existing threads and only if those threads don't answer your questions?
     
  19. black_jmyntrn

    black_jmyntrn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    1,289
    337
    3
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    i just used mongoose and added lexus key fobs to my prius
     
    Tombukt2 likes this.
  20. Mike from Merrick

    Mike from Merrick Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2022
    32
    4
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Well, I don't have techstream, but I bought the D7. My 2005 Prius needed the brake actuator replaced, so to do the linear relearn, figured it was a lot for less than 400.
    So actuator repair is done, went to do the relearn, didn't seem to work and then, presto, got P0AA6.
    Why is that a problem, it didn't give the 3 digit code after it to determine what/where the issue was. Not sure if the Techstream version I see talked about here for cheap would show it.