Finally! How to program a non-SKS key/fob. Detailed!

Discussion in 'Knowledge Base Articles Discussion' started by amethystjw, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. usnavystgc

    usnavystgc Die Hard DIYer and Ebike enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    3,159
    937
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Are you trying to program a new fob or reprogram the old fob?
     
  2. Prius_Guy701

    Prius_Guy701 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    At first it was just trying to swap the parts to the clean case. I don't know if it lost the info during the swap or not. I thought it would continue to work as it was the original one. So the short answer would be I am trying to reprogram the original old one to work if possible. I have heard you can't use "used" fobs and they would have to be done with a locksmith/dealer, but I thought that with it being the original one that it would work.
     
  3. usnavystgc

    usnavystgc Die Hard DIYer and Ebike enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    3,159
    937
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    You cannot use this procedure to reprogram a broken fob. This is simply to program a new unused fob. If your old fob is not working, it obviously has something wrong with it and no amount of chicken dances will fix it.
     
  4. Prius_Guy701

    Prius_Guy701 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Even if all I did was change the guts into a new case? It worked until changed the parts to a new case. The doors unlock fine, just won't start the car. So I will have to go to the dealership or locksmith?
     
  5. usnavystgc

    usnavystgc Die Hard DIYer and Ebike enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    3,159
    937
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I can't tell you what the problem is with your fob but obviously something happened when you transferred it over to the new case. The most likely problem is a button is continually being pushed but, I can't really help more than that.
     
  6. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,010
    603
    59
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Did you move the transponder as well as the circuit board? There is a chip about 1/2" x 1/8" x 1/8" in the case called a transponder. It's the active element when you plug the fob into the dash. Easy to not even notice it - check the old case.
     
    Prius_Guy701 and usnavystgc like this.
  7. Prius_Guy701

    Prius_Guy701 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Worked like a dream my friend. I took the bare shell out to the car and tried to start it with just the empty shell....and car started up. I then took the transponder out and and into my new case and it work 100%. So now that I have made the one work....the next question I have is that as long as the transponder works on my other crap fob, could I take that transponder out one that I know starts the car.... and get a used circuit board (because the buttons on my second crappy one broke off) and reprogram the used circuit board to my car?
     
  8. borrowedcarbon

    borrowedcarbon Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    16
    14
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    These instructions worked for me. The added red lines were needed - the instructions in the first two messages of this thread didn't give me the two lock-unlock cycles, and no pairing. I have a 2008 nonSKS and one fob stopped controlling the doors. I had to relink both old and new fobs Following Jaquimo's instructions and they both work again. Thank you Jaquimo.

     
    #288 borrowedcarbon, Mar 15, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2016
    usnavystgc likes this.
  9. TKLA

    TKLA New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am in this same boat. I have an original black logo and purchased a new silver logo (before knowing what the difference was) and I was able to program the silver logo fob to start the car when inserted into the dash, but I can not get it to open the doors remotely. I don't want the sks functionality, I just want to be able to open the door with the remote by pressing the unlock button.

    So now I guess that I will have to use it as a backup for starting the car only.
     
  10. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,010
    603
    59
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Or sell that new one on eBay - it's still new and could be added to any Gen2 SKS car. If you're happy with just the dash function, buy another used fob off eBay for half the price or less.
     
  11. flyerjonathan

    flyerjonathan Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    22
    3
    0
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    so I get to the step where the car is supposed to function the locks twice and mine only functions the locks once? i was able to program the fob to start the car, but when i do the "dance" to enable the remote locking it does not take. (black logo non smart key fob)
     
  12. usnavystgc

    usnavystgc Die Hard DIYer and Ebike enthusiast.

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    3,159
    937
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Try procedure C on this thread.

    How to Program a New Key Fob for Full SKS Functionality | PriusChat
     
  13. dann kaihua

    dann kaihua New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    3
    1
    0
    Location:
    hb
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Ok guys, how bout this one. I have a prius 2005 i just bought. I got two keyfobs with it. My primary one had a dead battery so I replaced it. It shows response to pushing lock/ unlock buttons but won't unlock the vehicle. It will start it though. I have the other fob which had been squashed a bit. It would start the car also but no button response. I bought a new case for $15 on amazon and loaded the guts into the new fob-case. After I put a new battery in, the sks feature opens the door with proximity and via the lock/ unlock buttons. The car won't start with this fob though. Which fob is my master fob. I assume I use the fob that starts the car to program the one that opens the car. Could I reverse the order when programming the lock/ unlock feature? HELP please!

    Dann
     
  14. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,010
    603
    59
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    If the fob buttons work, but you can't start the car with it inserted into the dash slot, then it's a problem with the transponder registration. The transponder is a separate chip inside a Gen2 keyfob. When you switch to a new case, you have to move both the circuit board and the transponder chip. Transponder registration is the short sequence generally called procedure "A".
     
  15. dann kaihua

    dann kaihua New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    3
    1
    0
    Location:
    hb
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Yup... I threw that one away! Oh well I guess I get a trip to the dealer.
     
  16. peacenik1949

    peacenik1949 New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2017
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Spencer, IN
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My prius is SKS equipped. Can I program a back key fob (non SKS) and make it work in this car?
     
  17. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,010
    603
    59
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    You can program the transponder portion that allows you to plug the fob into the dash. The lock/unlock buttons on a non-SKS fob are not compatible with a SKS car.
     
    RCO likes this.
  18. enthusiastdre

    enthusiastdre New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    3
    1
    0
    Location:
    OC
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I've been trying the "chicken dance" all day with a brand new key fob that I purchased from a Toyota dealership on eBay. It's a black key for a base 2008 Prius (non-SKS). I can't get the new key programmed; I followed the instructions to get into programming mode, but it it won't stop flashing. It flashes 3x for a while, then after a minute it starts flashing 1x. Any advice would be so greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  19. ITBland

    ITBland New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    9
    1
    1
    Location:
    New Orleans, La area, US
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I recently got a 2004 base with just one fob, got a couple more off of eBay and did the chicken dance. I could program the doors to lock/unlock, but not start the car (non-SKS). I noticed that the flash pattern was 2-3 repeating and eventually just the single flash. Looks like the 2-3 flash meant that the car already had 4 registered keys, so I got a cheap mini-VCI and was able to wipe all but the original key, and then add the other two (used keys, btw). If you don't like the idea of messing with the mini-VCI, call a few local locksmiths for a price to reprogram the car for the new key - some have found reasonable prices (even with a dealer).
     
    #299 ITBland, Aug 9, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017
    RCO likes this.
  20. Shannan

    Shannan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    palm harbor, fl
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Can anybody help, please? I just bought a used 2009 Prius and it only came with 1 NON-SKS key. I bought a second, Toyota factory, un-used, NON-SKS blank and attempted to chicken-dance it today (several times) using the instructions in this post. When I get to the part where I insert my new FOB into the slot and wait, my anti-theft light blinks twice, pauses, blinks 3 times and repeats this sequence for a minute before blinking normally. It fails every time. I think that the 2 blink- 3 blink sequence means that there are too many keys already paired with my car (I found that sequence in a sks-key programming doc, but it should be the same, I guess)

    So now my question is - is there a chicken-dance type of thing that I can do to erase all the other keys so that I can pair my new one? Or some other way that I can do it without spending a bunch more money?

    Thanks in advance!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Finally program Detailed
  1. Danny
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    4,722