1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

First Ever Prius, Tips for a Newb?

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by Yoshiyyah, Apr 1, 2016.

1. Yoshiyyah

Yoshiyyah New Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    I'm brand new to Prius (Been driving my new 2015 Prius C Two for about 4 days). My old car was an older Nissan Altima 4-cylinder. Any tips for a newb? I've been driving in ECO mode exclusively just because I wanted to see what it does for MPG for a month, then switch off and see what it does for a month. But its not even "broken in" yet at under 200 miles on Odo.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    congrats and welcome! just drive it like you're doing, and read the newb threads here for all the tips and info you'll need. then, let the questions begin. all the best!(y)

Yoshiyyah likes this.
  3. Tyler S

Tyler S Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Congrats on your new Prius C!

As Bisco mentioned there are a ton of useful threads on PriusChat from Tech issues, maintenance, mods and everything else you may want to explore.

The best tip for someone who is new to the Prius C is test out its different modes and find which best suits your driving habits and mpg goals best, but more than that just get out driving and enjoy your car!

When I first got my Prius C I did the same as you in terms of using Eco mode for a month or two, then drove it in "regular" mode to discover the differences in throttle response and mpg and I found I liked regular mode the best, but that's just me. You will find what mode you like best soon enough.

You made a great choice in purchasing a Prius C, I find them to be relatively fun cars to drive and the reliability and low cost of ownership are incredible.

Yoshiyyah likes this.
  4. Yoshiyyah

Yoshiyyah New Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius c
    Model:
    Two