1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

First timer: Replacing/refurbishing traction battery

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by vstypicals, Mar 5, 2012.

1. vstypicals

vstypicals Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A

I have a 2006 w/ 154k miles.

I took my car to the dealership and they said I needed a new traction battery (P0A80), which I paid them $115 for. They never told me how many modules were low/broken, and I didn't ask because I didn't know better. I guess I can try calling, and maybe they have the info stored somewhere. I JUST passed the warranty period (150k miles in Cali).

Anyway, I'm thinking of buying a used battery, and replacing the bad modules on my current one myself to save some cash, and in case the battery dies again, I don't have to worry since I can fix it myself instead of spending another ~$750.. Plus, I like working on cars.

I'm completely new to this hybrid battery stuff, but I do my own work in my Honda (S2000; DIY fluid changes, coilovers, spark plugs, motor mounts, etc.).

1. What do I need to check the battery modules?
    2. Any special tools I need besides the usual mechanics tools? I'm sure I need a multimeter, but is there a specific one I need?
    3. Any special gloves I need? I only have mechanics gloves.
    4. ANY tips?

I've replaced the 12v battery as well with the Optima one so I know it's not that.. plus the dealer told me it was the traction battery. :(

2. jdenenberg

jdenenberg EE Professor

Vehicle:
    2020 Prius
    Model:
    LE AWD-e
    Ask Toyota for a dispensation due to the closeness of the expiration to the failure. They have been known to support some owners in equivalent situations.
    Another option (about $2000) is to get a rebuilt battery - see Remanufactured Hybrid Vehicle Battery Packs