1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Fix or Sell 2012 264,000 Miles

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Tech0159, Mar 4, 2023.

Tags:
  1. Tech0159

Tech0159 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Hello,

Searched through all of the fix or sell threads and didn't see what I was looking for. Here is my situation. I have a 2012 Prius III with 264,000 miles that started having issues last month. The 'check hybrid system' warning came on and was diagnosed (by a Toyota service department) as a faulty head gasket and failed water pump. I'm no mechanic but I find it odd that I was able to drive the car for 1 week with the failed head gasket and water pump??? Anyway, I paid the $3,000 to get that fixed and all was well for about 1 week before the traction control, ABS and break lights came on and stayed on (braked were also notably less responsive). Toyota diagnosed this as a leaking master cylinder and break actuator. I had this checked at another auto repair place and they confirmed what Toyota said. So now, two weeks after spending $3,000...my Prius needs another $2,500 worth of work. My concern is that with 264,000 miles, something else (battery?) is also waiting to fail. From what I have read, with 264,000 miles my hybrid system is running on borrowed time. So my dilemma - keep fixing the problems or buy a new Prius? If it were 2018, I'd just buy a new Prius but as things are now, they are extremely hard to get and way over priced. Any thoughts on what you would do would be appreciated.

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II