1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Flat Tire and TPMS

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by Siward, Apr 30, 2015.

1. Siward

Siward Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi PriusChat,

I got a flat tire last week. This is my first time getting a flat with a tire that has TPMS.

How likely is the TPMS sensor broken due to a flat tire? Can I replace one TPMS sensor at a time? Or does all 4 need to be changed at once?

#1 Siward, Apr 30, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2015
  2. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Replacing one at a time should be just fine. The system will still need to be reprogrammed to recognize the new serial number, unless the shop puts in a clonable model programmed to the old serial number.

If a sensor is broken, the system will know that one sensor is not reporting and will light up the warning on the dash. No warning means that nothing is broken.

3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Has the tire been repaired/replaced? If so, and there's no TPMS warning light, you're good. If not, I'd just follow through on the repair/replacement first, see what happens.

4. Siward

Siward Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Can I use two of my winter tires as a spare tire? I'd rather drive on bigger tires than the smaller spare.

My winters are 195/65r15 and my all seasons are 215/45r17. I wonder if I can drive with two of each? Of course, this is only temporary until I get replacements.

5. ETC(SS)

ETC(SS) The OTHER One Percenter.....

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A