1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

For those long-term P&G'ers, please read

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by zm15, Apr 5, 2012.

1. zm15

zm15 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    As a new Prius owner (2010 III), i'm amazed at the depth of this community, and am glad to use as a resource, and contribute when I am able to.

Since i'm brand new to the various techniques of the Prius/Hypermiling ecosystem, I have a question....

Since the Pulse & Glide technique involves quickly getting up to speed, then coasting, and repeating this over and over, is there a detrimental long term effect on the parts of these cars (Prii) since it's being driven in such a 'ebb and flow' manner? I'm noticing I can get much better MPG, but I'm wondering at what cost if i'm degrading the components faster with this Rev Up & Coast method.

Anyone who's used this technique for awhile please feel free to chime in on your experience.

2. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    No long term detrimental effects. In some respects it is actually easier on the car, since the HV battery is not used during P&G.

Tom

3. zm15

zm15 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III

You're referring to the Traction Battery, correct?

4. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Correct. Properly done, P&G avoids use of the traction battery.

Tom

5. 32kcolors

32kcolors Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    On the Gen III, the traction battery can be used minimally during the glide phase, as it's more difficult to get 100% coasting compared to the Gen II. Still doesn't change anything in terms of long-term effects though.

6. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A