Forum SLOW, freezes web browsers, etc...

Discussion in 'PriusChat Website Questions' started by Motobob, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. QuiGonJohn

    QuiGonJohn Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    79
    2
    4
    Location:
    Davie, FL
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    I find it slow at times, and other times it is fast. For example, right now it's zipping along. But I was up at about 12:30 am and came on here and it was slow as molasses and bogged down my whole computer, even another IE window I was using. Once I gave up and closed the window I had PriusChat in, my computer went back to normal.
     
  2. jayman

    jayman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    13,439
    622
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Well, no need then to run ps -fu "user name" if it's happening to other FF users on various Unix/Linux platforms. I'm going to have to think about this. I thought maybe a glitch with Flash or Java.

    Note: I clear the cache and cookies every time I close the browser
     
  3. jayman

    jayman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    13,439
    622
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Based on Galaxee's suggestion, one can manually block the offending sites from hanging the browser. A way to automate this process is to visit Mozilla and download NoScript https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/722 This addon is a bit overprotective and does kill some features, but it also really speeds up the Priuschat experience. I played with NoScript all morning and it seems to work well, I recommend it
     
  4. jayman

    jayman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    13,439
    622
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Ok, a very important GOTCHA for NoScript: If you have a long post with punctuation, say carriage returns, NoScript edits that out so it's all one long paragraph.

    I knew it seemed a bit too easy and too good to be true
     
  5. Radon

    Radon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    120
    5
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I've noticed the forum is slow at work using Vista but its fast on all my pc's using xp. It has even crashed completely a few times on the Vista pc requiring a task manager restart of the browser.
     
  6. Skwyre7

    Skwyre7 What's the catch?

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    2,332
    5
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    It doesn't do that for me. Perhaps your settings are a bit too strict.

    On the other hand, maybe mine are a bit too loose.
     
  7. jayman

    jayman Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    13,439
    622
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I would *never* suggest you are too loose. Try to have more self respect

    Yes, I played with the settings they seem to work fine now. As installed, they are too strict. That is usually a good thing
     
  8. Motobob

    Motobob Seaside Pearl...

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    22
    0
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    The forum now is faster and more stable and my browser has not hung up in about 2 weeks. FYI. Much more enjoyable to browse through 500 messages daily! Thanks. Bob
     
Loading...