1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Frame Damage in Maryland

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Tlyke1983, Aug 21, 2007.

1. Tlyke1983

Tlyke1983 Red Sonja

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    So I was hit for the 3rd time in my Prius while it wasn't even moving. I was stopped at a red light and was rear ended by a monster sized Ford Explorer. This is in fact my 3rd Prius that was hit last Friday. I brought it to the Bodyshop today and they glanced at it and said it looked fine and could be fixed very easily. Then the woman opened my trunk. My trunk has not shut since Friday and when she opened it and saw how bent the inside was she sucked in her breath and goes Ohhhhhh, that is not good. She says it looks like frame damage and they may total my car. I'm not a mechanic or anything but can frame damage be repaired and would I even want it to be repaired? Also in the state of Maryland if there's frame damage do they automatically total a car even if it's not that bad? I would post pictures but I don't know how.

If they do total it I'll be saying bye to this board. This car seems to be bad luck. It sounds crazy but every year since 2004 I've gotten a new Prius because people keep hitting it while it's not even in motion. This accident was the least traumatizing where as the other two my car was hit from the front while I was stopped at a red light and the other I was t-boned while I was waiting at another red light. Maybe I should just start running red lights. J/K

2. kimgh

kimgh Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Tlyke1983 @ Aug 21 2007, 04:01 PM) [snapback]499989[/snapback]</div>
    If the frame is bent, there is probably no way to fix it. Sorry!

3. Tlyke1983

Tlyke1983 Red Sonja

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Are you sure they can't just heat it up and then straighten it out or something? This sucks.

4. Doc Willie