1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Free lifetime warranties from dealers???

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by Emma7145, Jan 1, 2017.

1. Emma7145

Emma7145 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm just beginning the process of looking for a 2017 Prius Two Eco (I'm still on the fence though btwn Two and Two Eco). The "e-prices" (the price they will email you but not post on their website) seem to mostly range between about $24k to the mid to high 25's. But the wrinkle that I'm seeing now is that some of the dealerships are offering free, nationwide, lifetime powertrain warranties. In my area, Kasper Toyota's is thru "My Warranty Forever," Nourse Toyota is thru "National Powertrain for Life LLC" and Beechmont Toyota has "Life Care Plus." Has anyone had any experience with this type of warranty before?

I've wasted money on extended warranties in the past so I wouldn't pay extra for it but if it's free why not? The why not for me would be a few things: (a) there are only three of these dealerships within about a four hour drive, (b) there are fewer Eco's out there so only one of the three has an Eco (luckily it's a color that I like but it's the only one so it could be gone before I'm ready to buy).

If I do drive the 3.5 hours to get the Eco from the dealership with the warranty ("e-price" of $24,344), I think they would be less likely to work with me on the price because I'd be less likely to just walk away if the numbers don't work. And, I couldn't really ask one of the dealerships that doesn't have an Eco to order it really ask a dealer to order and then haggle on the price. I'm not sure if all that wrangling is worth it for something I may or may not use.