1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Front fender removal/replacement 3rd Gen Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by NWBlue, Jan 11, 2020.

1. NWBlue

NWBlue New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I just replaced the left fender on my 3rd Gen (2010-15) Prius and couldn’t find good directions online so I’m posting them here. First of all, my skill level is low-intermediate and I was able to handle this in 5-6 hrs; someone with more expertise could probably do it in 3-4hrs. I paid $130 for a junkyard fender, touch-up paint, and a few plastic fasteners I broke during removal. I'm no expert, but I hope this is helpful to someone...

The good news is that you do not need to remove the small front triangular window; the fender has slots that slide up into each side of it. You will need to remove the tire, headlight assembly, front bumper cover (or loosen left half of it (your choice, but if you loosen it, protect it from scratches and don’t try in cold weather)), and rocker panel/side skirt. You will also need to loosen the plastic fender liner in the wheel well on each side. Videos are available on youtube for most of these, so watch those first to see if you want to tackle this. I’ll explain how to remove the rocker panel/side skirt below (couldn't find a video on this one).

Here’s what you’ll need: a new fender from a junkyard, aftermarket seller, or dealer; also inspect (for damage) the fender liner and the plastic seal between (behind) the fender liner and the front door (visible if you open the door and look toward the front of the car). Also note whether any plastic fasteners are damaged or missing. Finally, make sure the replacement fender has the rubber seal where the fender meets the windshield (or that you can salvage the one from the old fender, which will require sealant/adhesive).