Full gas tank but distance to emtpy didn't update?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Choski430, Oct 17, 2020.

  1. Choski430

    Choski430 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Bowling Green
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I have a 2010 prius with 145000 miles on it.
    Today I was driving home and noticed It only had one gas bar left so I filled up the gas completely. I turned on the car and noticed it only had 3 bars and dte was 140 miles, instead of 10 bars with 450+ dte. I made sure I filled it up all the way (filled over 8 gallons) and restarted the car and finally it showed the full bars. However, the display to empty still showed as "140miles" , instead of 450+ miles.
    I am asking here before I take my car to the dealership on Monday. Any advice is appreciated. Thank you!!
     
  2. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    13,957
    7,503
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Was the ignition turned completely off the entire time you were refueling? Turning it on to get readings while filling out my log book on my Subaru has caused this snag, though I don't have a similar answer for my Prius.

    I'd suggest not thinking about this until after the next refueling, to see if it resets itself and gets back on track. That works for mine. And that might be the dealership's first suggestion too.

    Though I must admit that I don't see this as important enough for a service visit.
     
    #2 fuzzy1, Oct 17, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2020
    Choski430 and tvpierce like this.
  3. Choski430

    Choski430 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Bowling Green
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----

    Sorry for the confusion. Yes my car was turned off the whole time.
     
  4. tvpierce

    tvpierce Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    797
    758
    2
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Just ignore it. Distance to empty is a meaningless gimmic. But if it really bothers you, I agree with @fuzzy1: let it go for a while, then refill and see if it resets.
     
    Choski430 likes this.
  5. cnc97

    cnc97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    1,150
    1,303
    29
    Location:
    Evansville, IN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    My 2010 takes a little bit of time to calculate the DTE. However the gauge itself should update right away. That being said, I’d add a bottle of Techron to the tank, as they “claim” it helps keep the sending unit clean, according to the bottle. Besides, if that works, it’s a lot cheaper then the trip to the stealership.
     
    Choski430 likes this.
  6. Deoc

    Deoc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    57
    31
    0
    Location:
    Pasco
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Did you press the refuel button? If you don't the car trys to ignore the level sensor if goes up to much as gas moves up in down in the tank, the refuel button tells the computer to reset the gas level and miles, not sure if you car has such a button but i think it does, if you did then i would just ignore it as is means nothing anyway.
     
    Choski430 likes this.
  7. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    13,957
    7,503
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Non-plug-ins of that era don't have such a button, they have only a cable release for the fuel door.
     
    Choski430 likes this.
  8. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    4,014
    3,128
    1
    Location:
    Wilkes Land
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    o_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_O
     
  9. Choski430

    Choski430 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Bowling Green
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Thank you everyone.
    I drove around this past weekend and checked dte and it is finally updated- 458 miles!
     
Loading...