1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Gas tank question/problem with fuel/tank

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by jomo, Mar 20, 2012.

1. jomo

jomo New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello: I am the proud owner of a 2004 Prius but I have no technical knowledge about autos. My husband of 30 years passed in December and he was a "car guy".

I basically have had no repairs on the vehicle except for a new windsheild and one other thing that was about $150.00 but can't remember what it was.

Yesterday, my fuel was down to 2 "notches" and while I was driving it went down to the last "notch" so I stopped for fuel. It would only take just under 2 gallons - the pump would stop and then I could only put it a tiny amount at a time so I finally stopped.

When I got back in my car the fuel gauge did not move any higher. I also noticed that I had only gone 277 miles since I last filled. I always fill the tank but it never takes more than 7 to 8 gallons regardless of low my gauge reads (or even if the light is flashing!)

I have an appointment tomorrow am at a Toyota dealership but don't want to pay for unecessary repairs and I also want to be knowledgeable.

Any ideas of what this could be? I have to drive about 50 miles this am should I try to put more fuel in after the drive?

Thanks so much!

I'm in line again for another Prius - but was hoping to keep this one for another two years. I'm definately a Prius snob and I've never been able to keep a car that long (I live in Detroit area so I get a lot of flak for owning a Toyota, too)

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I know that if you get less than 3 gallons, the computers do not recognize the new gas. (but it IS there obviously)

3. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
  4. jomo

jomo New Member