1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Gas Tank / Size / Warning Question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Manuel Orellana, Dec 27, 2020.

1. Manuel Orellana

Manuel Orellana Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hi Everyone,

I'm hoping that this thread helps someone else. This is what I've read and know so far, I've got a 2005 Prius which according to my research has a tank that holds 45L (11.9Gal). I have seen videos and have tried the calibration method to reset the gas gauge, I have noticed that when I go an fill up (the last line starts blinking) I usually fill up around 30L (7.9Gal) which means there are roughly 15L still left in the tank (3.9Gal).

Does this seem right to everyone else? It seems like a pretty hefty reserve, to me (and I'm not a mechanic or engineer, it's just my thought) I would think maybe 5L may be more like it rather than a third of the tank being left as a reserve. In the summer with the AC off, I've gotten as much as 612KM out of that 30L fill up which is outstanding, I once finished a fill-up averaging 5.2L per 100K which I thought was incredible, as we get into the winter months I've found that it's the efficiency has gone down a bit, I'm still happy, I'd just like to know what you guys think of my gas tank question, should I re-calibrate or is a 15L reserve normal?

Thanks!

2. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    All North America gen2 gas tanks came with rubber bladders that shrink over time, and don't expand well when filling during cold days.

Just don't try to overfill the tank when pumping, as this may cause damage to the tank assembly.

Manuel Orellana likes this.
  3. Manuel Orellana

Manuel Orellana Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----