1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Gen 1 prius 12v auxiliary battery wont fit

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by Timg1, Aug 28, 2022.

1. Timg1

Timg1 New Member

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I recently bought a 2003 Prius. The battery is dead (auxiliary), and bought this exact battery from carparts, that said it would be a guaranteed fit. The part number is ODYODS-AGM28MJA, the first link should be to the carparts website.
    I called my mechanic over to come and replace it, since I'm still young and don't know much about cars, and he said it wouldn't fit, something about how the positive and negative was swapped, and the terminal does not reach to the other side. Does anybody know a simple solution to this problem? I'm completely new to cars and don't have much money, only need a point A to B vehicle.

2. Trombone

Trombone Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    According to the website (https://www.carparts.com/search?q=odyods-agm28mja), it is a 51R case size, which should fit just fine. I've been using 51R (the "R" stands for "reversed terminals," with the + post nearest the car's positive clamp). I don't know what size terminals posts the Odyssey uses; you may have to switch out the car's clamps if it's SAE (standard American) posts, as I did years ago on my '02 to simplify replacement, with more choices of domestic batteries. I'm currently using an Interstate brand. You don't have to pay Odyssey prices to get a working 12V battery in your '03!!

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

if you need a mechanic to swap batteries, there's not much we can do to help.

if you want to learn, you've come to the right place. remove the old battery, and bring both to carparts, so they can see the reversed terminal problem and find the right battery for you.