1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Gen 2 or Gen 3?

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by jangma, Dec 17, 2018.

1. jangma

jangma New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello all!

I am not only a newbie to the Prius, but I'm new to the world of driving, period. After being a cab/train/subway girl my whole life, I'm finally in a place where is car is necessary. I'm bumming a ride for my hour-long commute each way right now, but hopefully by the end of the month I'll be ready to pull the trigger and buy a car. I've been doing a lot a research, and it looks like Gen 2 or Gen 4 have the best reputations. Now, Gen 4 would require me to finance and I realllly don't want a car payment right now (applying for grad school, ugh). Instead, I figure paying cash for a Gen 2 or 3 are my only options. Are the Gen 3s really that bad? Is it worth the risk of an older car/higher mileage to get a Gen 2? I keep reading about reading about blown head gaskets due to ERG problems in the Gen 3 and failing batteries in the Gen 2, and I guess I'm asking: which is more expensive to fix? I know next to nothing about cars except for what I've learned through this forum, so any help would be appreciated.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

1) you should not buy a hybrid

2) if you insist, a gen 2 is old enough to potentially cost you a lot of repair money.

3) a gen 3 closing on 100,000 miles is a potential oil burner and at risk for head gasket failure.

4) at a minimum, it will need an egr cleaning: close to $1,000

5) all these cars will need a new hybrid battery sooner than later

6) buy a corolla or civic

7) all the best!(y)

Skibob likes this.
  3. Skibob

Skibob Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    If you cannot repair cars yourself I would agree with bisco.

bisco likes this.
  4. jangma